Creamy Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The first time I made this it was a 4 for my family's taste. I then made it again with adding 1/2 tsp of chili paowder and 1/3 cup of chopped onions and we loved it. It is a crowd pleaser at parties and with the summer heat it's a no brainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I had some leftover home cooked black beans to use up. Another recipe I saw somewhere called for about half a cup of salsa with the blended beans, which I thought was a pretty close approximation to your recipe and it worked out very easy. Added a squeeze of lime to up the acid and a bit more garlic. Might not look pretty but sure tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I read the one review and used fresh garlic and onion instead of the powder. I also reduced the balsamic vingear by 1 T and the ketchup also. I added a can of garbanza beans and green chiles to the recipes. I then topped it off with cheese, black olives, onions, salsa and alittle sour cream. Tasted much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
For more flavor, I added some taco seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
With my changes it was pretty good. Could use more tweaking to bring more moisture to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Just a little too vinegar-ee for me. I'll make again for sure though and just cut back on the balsamic and increase the chili-powder. I'll update later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Wow - really delicious! Even the pickiest eaters enjoyed this. The balsamic vinegar was the key!! Will definitely be making again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I immediately jumped on this recipe for a Sunday afternoon snack. We like balsamic vinegar so I doubled it and next time will eliminate the cider vinegar...Used garlic powder b/c I didn't have onion and will probably add more next time. Very good! (p.s. double this ...it will go fast!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as written and it is excellent. Just the right amount of tang. You might want to double it - makes a small batch. The second time I made it I put in 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup sour cream. It took away from the tang a little bit, but made the recipe a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I used one half minced onion instead of powder and 2 cloves of minced garlic.FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States