Creamy Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I didn't have a measuring spoon so I winged it with the measurements. I used a masher instead of a food processor, so it was more chunky. Per some other reviews I added less balsamic, less ketchup, and no cider vinegar. Also added some garlic powder. It's definitely different, and I rather liked it! Very quick to make. Next time I will add fresh onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Did not like the combo of black beans and balsamic vinegar.....thought I would but it was just wrong in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Absolutely awesome! I did not have a food processor so I used my hand mixer- it worked the same! My friend who HATES beans- loved this! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was sooooo yummy. I used the balsamic vinegar in place of the cider vinegar and I think it made it even better because of the sweetness factor. Will be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Massey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made this to rave review. I passed it on to a friend of mine who wanted something different for Thanksgiving. She called me and thanked afterward, great success. They loved it and couldn't believe it was made with black beans. I omitted the added salt. I think the salt in the cans of beans and the ketchup should suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I thought it was fantastic. My husband wouldn't eat it because of the color (haha) and because he is a person with texture issues and it was pretty creamy. But the taste was great, if i do it again I won't make it quite so smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I just mixed the vinegar, ketchup, etc. together in a mixing bowl, added the rinsed & drained beans and mashed all together with my potato masher. I did add a bit of lime juice to the dip, also. I tried using some of the black beans in a quesadilla - and while I might make this recipe again as a dip, I won't be using it for another quesadilla. The vinegar/ketchup taste just wasn't quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I love this! No apple cider vinegar, so I added more Balsamic, fresh cilantro and red onion. A bit of cayenne pepper also. I will make this all the time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I submitted this recipe and glad to see all the good reviews. Please note that you can use tomato paste instead of ketchup. Also, kick it up a notch with more chili powder and onion powder. Also good with powdered garlic. Make it really fresh by adding fresh chopped onion, freshed chopped garlic and fresh cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The first time I made this it was a 4 for my family's taste. I then made it again with adding 1/2 tsp of chili paowder and 1/3 cup of chopped onions and we loved it. It is a crowd pleaser at parties and with the summer heat it's a no brainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States