Creamy Beet With Dill Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Tasty! The cayenne adds a subtle zing. Made it with no-fat evaporated milk to cut the fat/calories -- worked just fine. The boiled-egg garnish was OK, but seemed more suited for a cold soup/borscht. In fact, this soup tasted fine cold ... just not what I was looking for in mid-February!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup is fantastic!! I've made it twice: once with fresh dill & once with 2 teaspoons dried dill. I substituted "Better Than Bouillon" vegetable soup base in water for the chicken broth, and added a can of kidney beans before blending to thicken it & add protein. Used only 1/4 cup half-and-half to lower the calorie count. This soup is so delicious, I keep craving it. I'll make it again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I love this soup! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. The only substitution was that I used a higher fat cream (18%) because it was all I had in the fridge. I'm about to make my second batch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Made same as recipe but used coconut milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 and substituted veggie broth to make vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I decided to make this soup without the cream just to make it slightly healthier and and just used a little more water to thin it out [I also absolutely love the rich colour of this soup}. After blending the whole batch I poured most of it back in the pot but I left a small amount (1/2 cup to 3/4 cup) of soup in the blender and tossed in some roasted garlic goat Chevre (soft white goat cheese) and blended further. I used this as garnish poured into each bowl as the colors contrast well. It was a fabulous soup and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was a great dish for beets! The only change I made was to use 1c half&half vs. 1.5c. I may substitute yogurt next time - as some of the others said. The caraway seeds add a lot of flavor. This is definitely a make again dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Nice soup...a dash of red wine adds a good flavour. I prefer using beef broth instead of chicken. I pureed half of the soup and then left the other half chunky and added some carrot chunks. The chunkier texture makes the soup heartier if you are serving it as a meal. Goes well with a rustic style bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I did not have caraway seeds, so I substituted a tsp. of celery seeds (not toasted). I added a few carrots and used a small can of evaporated milk since half and half is not sold here in Peru. Hubby is on a soup diet, so this was a great change. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I like it! I didnt put sugar and added some carrots instead. Also, I only had a bit of half and half and a bit of whole milk, like a few spoons of each, so I only used that and I really liked the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I loved this soup. I substituted the cream for 2% milk to make it a little less fatty and lower calorie. I had big plans to freeze some, but it was too delicious and didn't last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States