Creamy Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I was a little bit disappointed in this salad. everyone at our gathering ate it, and I didnt get any bad commentsm but I also didnt get any compliments. I found it somewhat lacking in flavor, but it was definately a little more flavorful the next day. It makes a pretty presentation, but it lacks the pazazz that would have made it more memorable, and the kind of recipe that someone would say " ohhhh could ya make THAT again!?".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mehoney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merritt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
thought this was very tasty. I used my box grater and grated the beets instead of slicing and loved the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was so good. What a nice side dish. Great year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
My 13 yr old and I whipped this together is just a few minutes. I used s.cream instead of yogurt, and 2 TB of powdered green goddess dressing in place of the dill,& used rice wine vinegar. Had just roasted beets from my garden, so 1/4'd them, and voila, DELICIOUS!!!! My daughter said, " I think this ones a keeper!" Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frostybean

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
very good served on a piece of leaf lettuce to catch the fallen dressing - yum! I also cubed the beets instead of slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was fantastic. We like things with more zing so we upped the mustard and horseradish. We also used fat free yogurt and nixed the mayo to keep it healthy and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Family loved it. I roasted the beets, substituted light sour cream for part of the mayo and added half a tart apple in a small dice. I also added a tiny bit of honey to mellow the dressing. Served it on a bed of arugula. A nice change from the usual beet/orange/onion salad I often make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
so good I used it as a snack.---and I didn't share last time. I prefer to bake beets wrapped in aluminum foil---350 for 1 hour. Used regular mustard and skipped the horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Wasn't a big fan of this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This salad is not only good, it's pretty. Such a beautiful dish to serve at any gathering. The pretty color dresses up the table. This dish also tastes better the next day which makes this another perfect dish for gatherings as it can be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States