Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe, the flavor of the sauce was amazing, I used slice filet instead of ground beef and served it with a crusty garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This recipe is perfect!!!I see other reviews say to cut out the nutmeg and cloves. Don't!!!!That's what makes it unique and good. Try it as is. Everyone I make it for, loves it. The only thing that I think may be a typo, is use 1/4 c. FRESH parsley, not dried. Also I cut this recipe in half and it's enough sauce for 1 package noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I thought it was great!! I have tried a lot of stroganoff recipes and I think I like this one best. I did omit the nutmeg and clove only because I don't prefer those spices. I did add some sliced mushrooms because I love mushrooms. It turned out fantastic and the whole family loved it. Next time I think I will use beef broth rather than water. Thanks for the great and easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I didn't cook it exactly as written but the ingredients were exactly the same (I cooked the onions first, then added in the ground beef, then stirred in the flour, then the water, nutmeg, cloves. Then I added the family size can of cream of mushroom and cooked for a while, then whisked in the sour cream, mustard salt and pepper). Perfect dinner tonight and will follow this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was an ok version of stroganoff. I put in half of the cloves and nutmeg and I used regular instead of golden cream of mushroom and beef broth instead of water. If I were to make this again I would leave out the nutmeg and cloves, use golden cream of mushroom soup (to see how much difference it makes) and maybe about 12 oz. of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Too much of a very bland gooey sauce. The flour/water AND the soup should have been a tip-off but I tried it anyways. I'm sorry, this is cafeteria food of the 70's, not for a discriminating palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Laskevich

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Like others I made a few slight modifications. I omitted the nutmeg and cloves and added 1 tsp thyme with the onion. Instead of using flour I used cornstarch (mixed with water) and withheld it until it simmered for about 15 minutes (because I used some fresh mushrooms they needed to cook some). I added 1 tsp cooking sherry to the sour cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Patt Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
So fun and not complicated to make and it's so incredibly delicious it became my family's favorite right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I halved the recipe and it was delicious. I did add a 4 oz. can of mushroom stems and pieces after draining the beef and onion.----Louise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Warning! This should read salt and pepper to taste, not the prescribed amount. 1 and 1/4 tsp. for 5 servings was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States