Creamy Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I love the taste of this! The only problem is the instant pudding... Soooooo many chemicals in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Gladewater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We took it to a dinner party last night hosted by the parents of my teenage daughter. The teens loved it. I received so many compliments. I used banana cream pudding mix. I had to make it again today for my dear hubby, and this time I used vanilla pudding. I like the vanilla better. I put mine in a bowl and topped with vanilla wafers. On both occasions, I used milk instead of water and added a teaspoon of vanilla flavoring. Also this holds up if made the day before and tastes better. It does not get mushy like the recipes that have the custard that you make in the double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I have made this for over 24 years. It never fails and everyone always loves it. I have in a pinch substituted cool whip for the heavy whipping cream. I always use more bananas and cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANPOD97

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I wanted to make something different for Easter dessert this year and remembered this being a childhood favorite. I have tried several banana pudding dishes, some that I've made, and some that others have made. This is bar none, the best by far! You wouldn't think, based on such a simple ingredient list, that this recipe would offer something different, but it did! It was perfect, and incredibly creamy. My dinner guests polished off every bit of it, some even having thirds! The ONLY thing I changed was garnishing the top with a few sprinkles of cinnamon. The cinnamon doesn't really flavor anything but it does really compliment the creaminess. Nutmeg would probably do something similar. It also makes it look fancier. Having followed the recipe exactly (minus the cinnamon garnish), I would probably add more bananas next time. They only sparsely covered each of the three layers. I did follow one of the other reviewer's tips in dipping the bananas in Sprite to keep them from browning. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
WOW! WOW! WOW! Best banana pudding in the history of the world...EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe is d e l i c i o u s !! It's very creamy, velvety smooth, and you simply cannot resist having a second helping. Just before serving, I added a few crumbled vanilla wafers and then topped with a dusting of cinnamon sugar. Remember to beat (and beat) the whipping cream until it's stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUSSFRYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Simply delicious! I made this recipe exactly as written and it was sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I love it I have it every Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is the BEST ever banana pudding I have ever tried. I did put in more vanilla wafers and next time I will put in more bananas. ***** 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pss
Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Being asked to hand a favorite family recipe down to the next generation is not only an honor but the greatest of compliments! After 20 years of making Creamy Banana Pudding I've discovered the holidays aren't the same without it. I can't recall the last holiday meal that didn't include it. The texture is so light and creamy it seems to just melt in your mouth. The taste is delectable! If you like banana flavor you will love this! It's delicious! My family races to get the last serving! I've been making this pudding for at least 20 years. In that time I've made a few alterations with only minor changes the original recipe. I always start by chilling the mixing bowls. I prefer to use a metal bowl when whipping the cream. It seems to speed up the process with equal results. I use pineapple juice to preserve the sliced bananas instead of lemon juice. You get the same results and that I believe taste better. It may not even be noticeable. I substitute banana flavored instant pudding mix for the vanilla. We've done a side by side taste test and banana flavor won hands down. DO NOT substitute the EAGLE BRAND® Sweetened Condensed Milk! I've used another brand only to find it really does make a difference! One of my favorite gifts of all time is an antique, cut glass, footed serving dish given to me by my best friend. The dish and the dish are a perfect match! Warning: you can not make this just one time! You will make it a family tradition! Vivi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States