Creamy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Yummy Yummy. What a pleasent taste and so very moist. I've made this so many times and it's a keeper. Hints: I always use 3 good sized banana's, which is a lot more than what the recipe calls for. I use 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of cinnamon, and I ommit (usually) the pecans. Takes a little longer to cook with the extra banana's, but it's worth the wait. Thanks Pam Hall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norris, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This IS a very creamy bread, but i think it lacks flavor. I made it for the first time today, in a large rectangular cake pan, and it took only 30 minutes. I added 1TB vanilla because usually like more than recipes call for. It turned out great, except next time I will add some spices to the mix, such as cinnamon, nutmeg, or allspice. I will also mix up a small dish of cinnamon and sugar with melted butter and spread on the top of the bread. It was good, but it needs a little kick. Adding a little more banana couldnt hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Moist and creamy! But, I guess that's no surprise with banana bread. I've never made banana bread with cream cheese before so this was a nice change plus it was a nice way to use up the last of it along with some really ripe bananas. I cut the recipe in half and added a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and kept the vanilla at 1 tsp. I also mashed 3 ripe bananas so that was definitely more than 1/2 cup! I subbed walnuts for the pecans as that's what I had on hand. I used one egg and added a couple of tbsp. of veg. oil. I baked in a 9x5 glass baking dish and it took an hour. I love the nice nut/sugar mixture in the middle when you cut into the bread - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I used 1/3 cup of applesauce instead of margarine, used an 8 ounce package of fat free cream cheese, mashed 3 bananas, used 1/2 cup of applesauce with 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda mixed in instead of 2 eggs. I also omitted the pecan mixture, and instead chopped up 1/2 cup of walnuts, and threw them in the banana bread mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
This was very good. I left out the nuts and mixed in the cinnamon and brown sugar. However next time I'll cut the cinnamon in half and add an extra banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This is the best banana bread recipe I've found. The cream cheese makes the texture wonderful. Plus, the bread freezes really well. So, with the two loaves, I put one in the freezer and leave another out for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I wasn't particularly impressed with this recipe. I found the batter to be somewhat thick, and the bread wasn't as moist as I thought it would be with the addition of the cream cheese. I also added 1 teaspoon of the cinnamon to the batter, instead of all of it in the crumb filling. My favorite recipe is still the Banana Sour Cream Bread found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
i added some chocolate chips with the filling and it didn't last two hours!..this was an incredible bread that i will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
I added Banana Extract instead of Vanilla - gave it fabulous flavour - love the texture - it's easy to toast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I don't care for nuts so I skipped that part of the recipe, instead I added the cinnamon to the batter and I added my own little twist and added some oranged rind to the batter also. Will make time and time again, it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States