Creamy Baked Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Very good, altho my cream didn't carmelize much. Maybe I should have baked longer? My pears were tender in the time specified. Used Bosc pears and half and half. Also added a half teaspoon of vanilla to the cream. Baked two pears in a 7 x 11 dish. I will make this again. We almost always have fruit after dinner, and altho this dish has more calories than plain fruit, was a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
no one in my family liked this :( I followed to the T didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Easy recipe with phenomenal, gourmet results and taste. I had d'anjou pears on hand and I followed the recipe and followed other reviewers' suggestions to add vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I melted the butter to help spread around the pan and cover the pears. Served with french vanilla ice cream, topped with creamy sauce from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie Lommel
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very easy and a nice side dessert when you have a lot of bigger dishes to make. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Lommel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Flavor was great, but I was hoping the sauce would caramelize more. Guess I'll look for another recipe that produces a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Let me start by saying I do not like pears, but when reading this recipe I felt compelled to try it. Am I glad I did! Didn't change a thing other than to sprinkle a bit of cinnamon on top along with the sugar, but just a personal taste preference. Once they came out of the oven, I took one to my hubby and walked back to the kitchen to get mine. All I heard in the other room was "Wow!" Once I took a bite I knew what he meant! 2 weeks later I made these for dinner guests and they loved them as well. Great dessert that is light and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Really easy and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was absolutely delicious and so simple to make. It would also be very good with just a dab of vanilla ice cream on top but the recipe is excellent just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I loved the simplicity of this. I used Red Anjou, they were a little more then ripe, so they were extra tender. To make it again I will probably use a touch of salt to bring out the flavor, and maybe vanilla extract like someone else did. Otherwise mine was pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Concan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is wonderful! It took all of 3 minutes to wash and core my pears. I used red pears and left the skin on, rubbing it with butter made it very tender. I can't remember ever making such a simple dessert that presented so well and tasted as good. I will use a larger pan next time so get here is more contact with the cream, the caramel custard will get browner. Thanks, kaboom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Chef John's Baked Apple Roses

Dessert made from puff pastry, apples, and cinnamon sugar, shaped as roses.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States