Creamy Avocado Pesto - Delish! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Loved this. I love pesto, but find it makes pasta too dry. With the added avocado, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made this without the tomatoes and didn't need to add any olive oil - so healthy and fresh and delicious! Hubby reheated some the day after and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grace Wenzel
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So easy and so good! Still flavorful for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I never have fresh basil when I need it! I doubled the recipe for leftover lunches. I didn't use lemon juice and substituted the fresh basil with 1 tablespoon of dried basil, neither did I bend any cheese into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I had just trimmed my basil plants, and was out of spinach, which I usually use to make pesto. I stumbled on this recipe in AR and really hit the jackpot. I am new to cooking with avocado and was amazed at the perfect texture it gave the pesto. The avocado gave it a nutty taste without having to actually used pine-nuts. The only change I made was I sauteed the shrimp and additional garlic in a few tablespoons of butter instead of adding the shrimp to the boiling penne. Then tossed in the drained pasta, pesto, Romano and a splash of leftover heavy cream and warmed it through. Easy, delicious, and aromatic. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was awesome and took no time thanks to the trusty ole mini Cuisinart food processor. Slam dunk. Excelente. Actually didn't have lemon or lime and used a shot of ACV for the acid and worked like a charm. For sure making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Oh my...I rarely make a recipe and follow it to the letter, but this one I did not change a thing, it's a keeper...Avocado makes everything better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaElaina87
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My husband & I loved this recipe, although I tweaked it a lot. I used diced chicken breast instead of shrimp since we already had it in the freezer. I also added 1 1/2 more avocado then the recipe called for and even then it was spread thin on top of my pasta. I then had to double or triple the other ingredients in the avocado pesto to get it to our liking. Just using the amount on the recipe caused my culinary husband to reply that there wasn't much flavor and I agreed. More garlic, more lemon juice, more salt & pepper. Next time I make it I'll be sure to cook my cherry tomatoes because the sweet flavor really comes out when cooked and it won't have a chewy gritty texture from the raw seeds. Instead of Romano cheese I used Parmesan, again using what was in my fridge. The pesto isn't cooked or heated in any way and that cooled down the plate to a luke warm. All in all, I really had to play around with this dish to get it to the flavors we liked, but the recipe is a great launching pad for a dinner that we enjoyed and I will make again. *Side note- My husband kept nagging at me that this avocado pesto isn't a pesto because it doesn't have pine nuts in it. I would say it's more of an avocado sauce or what came to my mind, baby food. Delicious baby food though ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaElaina87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Oh man! This recipe packs so much flavor. We made this as a side dish last night - served it over angel hair pasta to accompany grilled chicken breast. All I can say is delish! We doubled the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My first attempt at pesto and it came out so, so delicious! I did make a few changes to suit my family. I replaced the 2 cloves of raw garlic with an entire head of baked garlic. I took the advice of another commenter and added 1/4 C walnuts when adding the olive oil. So good and really easy. I can't wait to make this pesto again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States