Creamy Avocado Pesto - Delish! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe was pretty good. I made it with the shrimp, omitted the cheese, used sun dried tomatoes and roasted fresh asparagus. I'm very glad I added the tomatoes and shrimp since it definitely needed more character. Adding some diced raw, red onion when serving added a great flavor, too. It was very yummy, but definitely needs some extra ingredients to make it 'pop'. Doubling it was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
easy to make, quick, kind of healthy recipe but not my kind of meal. I love most of these ingredients on their own but unfortunately not in this combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brit
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I love love love this recipe ! I just added some Italian sausage and doubled the garlic for more flavor , everything else I followed instructions to the T! It came out perfect and now I'm stuffed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Kock your socks off delicious! My guests were really impressed and thought I went to a lot of trouble! I sauteed shrimp in garlic and Old Bay and added at the very end. I also grilled asparagus, cut them up and added those as well and some sliced small hybrid tomatoes on top. It tasted and looked wonderful. Two things for the next time though: I'd put the mixture on the stove at a warm setting at the end while adding the shrimp and rest of the ingredients. Although the dish was warm at the beginning, it quickly cooed off. I would also add more seasoning - maybe more garlic and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe is awesome!!! Instead of the pasta, I used spaghetti squash and instead of shrimp, I made meatballs. Added 1/4 cup of walnuts and doubled the garlic on the pesto and it was outstanding! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Loved this. I love pesto, but find it makes pasta too dry. With the added avocado, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made this without the tomatoes and didn't need to add any olive oil - so healthy and fresh and delicious! Hubby reheated some the day after and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grace Wenzel
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So easy and so good! Still flavorful for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I never have fresh basil when I need it! I doubled the recipe for leftover lunches. I didn't use lemon juice and substituted the fresh basil with 1 tablespoon of dried basil, neither did I bend any cheese into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I had just trimmed my basil plants, and was out of spinach, which I usually use to make pesto. I stumbled on this recipe in AR and really hit the jackpot. I am new to cooking with avocado and was amazed at the perfect texture it gave the pesto. The avocado gave it a nutty taste without having to actually used pine-nuts. The only change I made was I sauteed the shrimp and additional garlic in a few tablespoons of butter instead of adding the shrimp to the boiling penne. Then tossed in the drained pasta, pesto, Romano and a splash of leftover heavy cream and warmed it through. Easy, delicious, and aromatic. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States