Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
One of my family's fav potato dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was really fantastic. I chopped up the onions very finely in order to hide them from my kids instead of using rings. I did use tons more pepper, but we are a peppery family. I dished it all out to the 4 of us, and my husband immediately asked if there were more, just based on the delicious baked cheesy smell. This will be in the regular rotation for sure. Eventually I'll try to make it healthier but not right now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Easy and yummy. I had diced onion so I used those. I salted and peppered both potato layers pretty generously. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I make this with Velveeta Shreds - the entire 2 cup package, and we can't get enough! I also take the aluminum foil off for the last 15-20 minutes because we like it browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Wow! This came out truly amazing! I added all the ingredients to pork chops that had already been cooking in the oven. I took the previous suggestions of cutting up the onion, putting the cheese sauce between potato layers, and adding one more cup of that oh-so-yummy cheddar cheese. My tummy is so happy! Thank you for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These potatoes were fantastic! My family loved them. Unfortunately I cut my finger on the last potato slice on the mandolin slicer and had to go to urgent care. I have a food processor that I have never used and will see if it has a slice function so that I can get rid of my hand-held slicer and keep myself safe the next time I make these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is the best potato recipe I have ever used. It is quite adaptable as well. For example, my husband is gluten free, so I substituted gf flour. I needed to use up some sour cream so I added it to the "add cheese" step. Adding an additional half cup of super sharp cheese works wonders. I don't always add onions, but when I do I always dice them because large onions aren't popular around my house. I cover with foil the first half of baking, then uncover so the taters can brown. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Hjartarson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Keep coming back to this wonderfully easy recipe. I omit the onions and add about an extra cup of cheese and use a 2qt baking dish. Easy no fail recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Dollard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Whole family enjoyed it. To save time, I used pre-sliced potatoes from market and steamed them for a few min in microwave while preparing sauce. Added some cream and sour cream to sauce (I was low on milk). For those who want it less bland- I also added Italian herb seasoning to potatoes, and a pinch of sage and dash of nutmeg to the sauce when adding the milk. Yum... Don't forget to grease the casserole dish like I did :-/. Baked uncovered for the last 20 min as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was great! I did play with the ingredients a bit. I used red potatoes, minced red onion and added 2 tbsp minced garlic to saute in the butter,completely omitted the raw onion, used almost a lb of 2 year white cheddar and about half a lb of smokey sharp cheddar. this recipe definitely needs more cheese than the original calls for. Add bread crumbs at the end and boom you've got yourself a recipe you'll use over and over. This was a huge hit for my boyfriend and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States