Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I'm constantly asked to make my version of this recipe. Here's what I do differently that I think makes it better. 1. No onions. (I think they just get in the way of the potato and cheese flavor) 2. Make extra cheese sauce (I think an extra half recipe of sauce will do it) 3. Put extra cheese in the sauce. (at least an extra half cup, but to your taste) 4. Layer cheese sauce between layers of potatoes. (make sure to grease the pan well or it's hard to get off after baked) 5. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top for extra crispiness. I made two huge pans of this for a party with 30+ people and it all went. Definitely a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Made exactly as directed, only change being mincing the onion instead of rings, as I don't like the texture of onions in large chunks. One reason I chose this recipe was because I prefer whole, natural foods (avoiding processed cheese and cans of soup, for example), and it fit the bill for that well enough. Verdict: it's quite possibly the best cheesy-potato side I have ever tasted. Some reviewers have called it bland, but I prefer to term it comfort food. It's a creamy, cheesy, potato side dish. It doesn't have to have a special bite or kick to it, or evoke any particular area of the world. I adore all sorts of cuisines—Thai, Middle Eastern, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, you name it—but once in a while a lightly seasoned dish that lets you taste the potato, the cheese, the simple flour-and-milk sauce...once in a while that simplicity is the pefect complement to your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiny Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Can you say.......disappeared faster than a speeding bullet? I just made this as a side dish to my Christmas ham. I doubled the recipe...used a lot more pepper than expected....used Cracker Barrel's Vermont extra sharp white cheddar ..... sauteed the onions with some garlic and butter before adding to layers....and slow cooked in crock pot (oven was full of ham). WOW!!! This recipe rocked. I loved that it was so user friendly and easy to cook in the crock pot. It is a must have to choose side dishes that can cook in a crock at the holidays. Thank you 1,000 times over!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2034 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was very, very good. I will not make Au Gratin Potatoes from a box mix again! I'm rating it 4 stars instead of 5 because I feel a few simple changes are needed. I would mince the onion and mix it throughout the potatoes. We did not care for the big, slimy rings of cheese-covered onions in the center of the dish, although we did like the flavor of the onions. Also, a 1 quart casserole dish is too small for this recipe, use at least a 2 quart. Another tip, which I'm sure many people are already aware of, is to spray the foil with a bit of cooking spray before putting it on the dish to keep the potatoes and cheese from sticking to it. Finally, we like our potatoes to be golden brown on top, therefore I removed the foil for the last 15 - 20 minutes of cooking time. Thanks for a very good recipe that we will enjoy many times over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
801 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This was easy and delicious! I sliced then microwaved the potatoes for about 8 minutes to cut down on baking time. Then poured the cheese sauce over top and mixed with potato slices, then bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
780 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I was hesitant to make this but all the raving reviews had me curious. My family of 5 raved about these potatoes all through dinner, my husband said they're the best he's ever had! I added extra cheese as we are cheese fans. I usually make mine by just adding shredded cheese, onion, flour and milk and bake which is delicious but these beat it! Also a great tip, this is the same cheese sauce my family uses for homemade mac n cheese, if you use this recipe and pour it over cooked elbow macaroni and add extra shredded cheese on top then bake just a bit to melt, it's the best mac n cheese you've ever had! You could make a double batch and have the mac the next night with baked chicken. Thanks Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
705 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Good recipe, nice as a side w/baked ham. Modified slightly by sauteeing onions 1st w/a bit of fresh/minced garlic for 4 min to reduce "raw" onion taste B4 adding to layers. Also agree to remove cover 15 min B4 serving to get a little crust or add a little buttered breadcrumbs to get a light topping. Convert this side dish recipe to a "one meal" casserole by adding left over chunks of ham (from a previous meal). This casserole is then yummy as brunch, lunch or supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
489 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Creamy, saucy and delicately flavored potatoes which are the perfect accompaniment to more robustly seasoned meats. Would be better, however, with onions chopped rather than sliced, and to uncover for the last 20 minutes to brown the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
My husband and I loved this so much... My makin them out of the box days are over... I made just a couple changes... I sprinkled garlic powder on both layers of the potatoes...I also used marble cheddar and after I poured the cheese mixture over I also topped it off with a bit more shredded cheese... I baked it covered like it said but uncovered it for the last 10 minutes and it gave it just the right amount of crispiness, just the way we like it... and for my husband I added just 1 more sprinkle of cheese to his on his plate... These are also great the next day served with eggs for breakfast... Kiki (Brampton,On,Canada) P S.. I wanted to add that I just made this again today (Oct 4th) and topped it off with some cooked and crumbled turkey bacon and sliced green onions.. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
This was pretty good. I have a habit of making high fat recipes into low fat ones. This one was ok but not great using low fat cheese. For some reason the cheese burned on the bottom. I baked it in a glass dish. If I had used full fat cheese I'm sure it would've been fabulous. I save this recipe for special occasions and use the right cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States