Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
There is no reason to buy the box stuff ever again! These came out fabulous. I chopped the onions instead of leaving them as rings. I also seasoned with salt and pepper on each layer instead of just the top layer. I baked it for an extra 1/2 hour since my onions were still a little crunchy. I think I might sauté the onions a little bit first (as another person suggested) so that they soften faster in the oven. I found no need to make extra sauce or to layer the sauce. There is plenty and by the time you cut into the dish, the cheese sauce is distributed throughout. This is going to be a new family favorite. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agziller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
My family of 7 and I love anything potatoes, and I jumped at the chance to never cringe at the ever rising price of boxed au gratin, which I have ot buy 3-4 of for just one dinner, and that's just one "side". This recipe knocked the boxed Au Gratin out of the park, I was so pleased hearing all my children's "mmm!"s and "ooh!"s I did follow the advice of other reviewers by mincing my onion, especially because my kids THINK they don't like onion. I added about a half cup more cheese and the roux is similar to mac n cheese sauce so in the similar fashion I slightly oversalted my sauce and it came out so wonderful. This would work with whatever your favorite cheese is provided that it melts well, and for people who say it's "bland" I do see that really depending on the kind of cheese you use. Try sharp tasting cheeses. This has earned a permanent place in my dinner repertoire, heck, I might even make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Was good, just tasted like a cheese sauce for Mac & cheese to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This was an awesome recipe - my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
With the exception of using 2 cups of cheddar instead of a cup in a half,I followed the recipe. If was very tasty and simple. I like no fuss recipes like this one, so while I understand all the variations I would not go overboard since is had enough flavor for me. I would make the following changes to bring it to a five star. I did not like the rings of onions but I liked the flavor so instead of rings I would dice the onions and distribute throughout. Maybe add a dash of cayenne pepper. Simple and delicious, thanks to the person that contributed this recipe and as always I am a huge fan of Allrecipes, it's like having a cooking coach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Showed my 14 year old son this recipe. He wanted to make it. So he did for Christmas Dinner. It was Great. He did a great job. Very easy to make with great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
It was ok, kind of bland. I added leftover ham so it did give it some extra flavor. I will try it again and spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Awesome recipe! The onions add a nice flavor and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Review this to make it 75 shy of 3,000 reviews! I made recipe almost exactly as written. Chopped the onion and ended up with 3 layers so I baked for 2 hours instead of 1 1/2 hours. Can't wait to taste it! Update: They were very, very good except the potatoes really stuck to the pan. Next time I'll grease the pan better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
These were really really good! I did chop the onion and used extra cheddar. I had red potatoes so I sliced 4 cups. Perfect quantity. Covered in the oven until last 30 minutes. I find microwaving the potatoes for about 8 minutes with some water cuts the oven time down to about an hour. Drain, then layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States