Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great basic recipe......everyone will have their little twist on it due to taste preferences. I used red bliss potatoes and did not peel them. Also used scallions instead of onions and Gruyere and a blend of cheddar cheeses. Since I made this to go with my Easter ham I used CREAM instead of milk and a hefty dose of pepper, flat leaf parsley and one of my favorite herbs Summer Savory. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This recipe is wonderful! My pappa (who was a chef for 40 years) told me to use just a touch of beef base to the sauce. It cuts the milk taste and adds a unique wonderful flavor! I have made this recipe for 20+ years, but added my pappa's touch - and there is never any left for the day after! I even double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Very good! Cooked perfectly and tasted very yummy. There was a very large amount of oil left on the top after baking that i wasnt sure how to deal with. Still very delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was a family favorite from the first time I made it! Although I followed the directions exactly the first time, I had to tweak it for subsequent preparations. Instead of cheddar, I use at least 8 oz. of Monterey Jack with jalapenos, substitute half and half for the milk in the cream/cheese sauce and uncover for the last 20 minutes. It takes the recipe to a much better place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Lovely classic recipe. I use a garlic/herb salt instead of regular salt and sprinkle with parsley to add color and interest to this recipe. I finish by broiling for that yummy browning cheese look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Super easy to make and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Love this recipe! I sauté the onions in Olive oil first before layering between potatoes. I also like to remove foil at the end to ensure a browned top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Very good recipe everybody loved it. The only two changes I'll make next time will be more cheese and pour some on top of the first layer with the onions then place the second layer of potatoes and pour the rest on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Very flavorful and definitely better than the boxed stuff. I have made this twice and have found a 1 qt. casserole to be way too small, There is no detail on how many pounds of potatoes to use but the size of 4 russet potatoes could vary greatly. I used only 3 with chopped onion and the potatoes ended up piling higher than the top of the pan. Trying to pour the cheese sauce over was a disaster and there was way more sauce than would fit in the pan. I dumped it all into a 2 qt. casserole & mixed it around. Baked covered for 1 hr, 10 mins, then uncovered for 20 mins. Wasn't brown enough for me so I stuck it under the broiler for a couple minutes, i did find that both times I made this, the sauce stuck to the bottom of the pan & became brown and crusty. If you can manage to scrape that crispy crust off when you are serving the potatoes, it is delicious. Recommend it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,986) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States