Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this as directed for Christmas dinner....three people and we put a major dent in this. My brother-in-law had 3 servings...that I saw and I had two. Great technique and sauce, will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Very good and easy recipe. I sliced the potatoes very thin and it took over 1 1/2 hours so I think I'll try microwaving for 10 minutes or so before baking. I will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
i and everyone that eats this recipe LOVES it! I made it as the recipe called for the first time - it was great! I changed a few things the second time and continue making it with the changes. I dice the onions, sauté them with minced garlic and layer them with the potatoes. i also add 1/2 cup more cheese to the sauce. cook covered for 1 hour and uncovered for 1/2 an hour. I've used all types of cheese with this recipe. they're all amazeballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Easy & very good!! Husband loved it. Changes I made- minced onion & sprinkle between layers- added 2 Tyme stems & 1 minced garlic clove to cheese sauce while simmering, let steep a bit. Adds great flavor. Remove stems before adding sauce to potatoes .- added bread crumbs & uncovered it last 20 min. Set casserole dish on cookie sheet to catch any drippings. I'll be making this again for Christmas dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I tripled the recipe for 10 people and it was wonderful! I used russet potatoes, but will try Yukon next time. I used less onion, but added a layer of chopped up arugula in the middle and bacon pieces in the middle and on top. You can't go wrong, it was cheesy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Instead of using onions, used onion powder, and velveeta cheese which makes a creamier sauce. Layer the potatoes and then sauce. Did not cover with tin foil as we like the crusty cheesy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecelia Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious. I even used almond milk instead of regular milk and it turned out very creamy. Also used more pepper than salt and low fat cheese. Added more cheese at last 10 mins and removed tin foil. It made a nice crust This will be on the menu for my Christmas dinner this year. Will go very well with ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are awesome. Make a lot and I froze what we didn't eat and have reheated for other meals. Will plan on making again for Christmas dinner. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I scaled the recipe for 6 potatoes since I wanted to use them up. I used my mandolin to slice the potatoes thinly and evenly which reduced the baking time to 60 minutes. I sauteed a finely diced onion in the butter, omitted salt since I am on a low sodium diet and cheese is salty, used a mixture of swiss, cheddar and mozzarella cheeses that I wanted to use up. Seasoned with onion and garlic powder, parsley flakes and my homemade salt free cajun seasoning, really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I chop the onions and layer potatoes, onions, potatoes and onions. Makes for a better mix. Add a dash of cayenne pepper to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 2,817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States