Creamiest Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I used about 1/2 cup cream and the rest 2% milk. It came out thick and delicious after the prescribed hour of simmering. It tasted like a cold, creamy cinnamon roll. YUM. The only thing I will change next time is a reduction of the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was a bit too sweet for me. Why so many reviewers on this site recommend even more sugar, I can't imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
when on the second step with the egg,milk,vanilla, and salt mitxture I find that if after letting sit for 10 min, you add the mixture and slowly bring it up to almost a boil while stirring the entire time over roughly 5-7 min. good work out. once it reaches boil lower heat and stir for another min or two and remove from heat stirring more and follow the rest of the steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Excellent! Like other reviewers have said, I needed to cook the rice mixture longer than an hour to get it to thicken enough. Next time I will probably cook it longer as it still came out not quite as thick as I'd like, but it's definitely worth all the work you need to put into it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This recipe was the ultimate! I had rice pudding years ago and quite frankly it was horrible. So I was a little apprehensive to give this a try. I am so glad I did. I served this at our Ladies Tea, and the crowd loved it. The only things I changed in my final recipe was the eggs. Instead of whole eggs, I used just the yoke. I also increased the yokes to 4. It came out very rich tasting. Yum Yum!! I did increase the cooking time to about and Hour and 20 minutes. I would add that using real cinnamon (Ceylon) makes it tops! Thank you BONNIE Q. for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I've made this pudding twice now. The first time is was great except I thought I should add the salt to the milk, sugar, and rice while cooking because the rice seemed bland. The second time, I added the salt in the beginning and it flavored the rice perfectly. Only problem was that I somehow made egg flower pudding instead of a thick and creamy pudding base. It was even more disappointing since it was a double batch for a potluck. Looks like we'll be eating rice pudding for weeks to come...not that that is such a terrible thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Burnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I was so excited to make this for my husband. I followed the instructions to a T. I even cooked it for 25 min more. Because I thought it was also too thin. But being Iv never made Rice Pudding before. I let it sit till room temp. Shook my cinnamon on. Wrapped and placed in the refrigerator. I woke this morning to a liquid. So disappointed. It did take a long time. Wish there was someway of fixing it. If there are any suggestions it would make my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Dee-licious! Relying on advice from prior reviewers, I cooked my rice until it became "thick" not runny. Took about 1 hour 20 minutes after the beginning of simmer, and I tempered my egg mixture. From there, followed the recipe, except added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the pot, and scooped the pudding into individual dessert cups. Also, for the last few dessert cups, I stirred in a few drops of orange blossom water as an experiment. The few drops of orange gave the pudding a heavenly depth the plain ones lacked, but after one night in the refrigerator, both the plain and orange scented were out of this world! I thank the prior reviewers for the excellent cooking tips. My guests said the rice pudding was as good as the one from our local 5-star French restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I used the crockpot and it was wonderful.I added a vanilla bean during cooking.And added an extra 1/3 cup sugar and the last milk I used cream.It tasted just like my grandmother's. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I had rice pudding soup. Sorry! Tasted good but there is something wrong with the liquid part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My husband Daniel makes this rice pudding at least once per month. Since there is just the 2 of us since our 4 girls have moved on, he makes a half recipe. The pudding is freaking outstanding!!! Daniel adjusts the recipe slightly by adding another bit of REAL vanilla and kicking up the cinnamon a bit. If you love creamy rice pudding, this is the recipe for you. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States