Creamed Tuna On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My mother taught me to make this when we were short on cash. We typically make our own cream sauce by whisking 1 tablespoon of butter with 2 tablespoons of flour and then very slowly adding a total of 2 cups of milk until it thickens. Whisk the flour and butter mixture constantly while adding the milk to reduce lumps. Then simmer it a bit and as it thickens add the tuna, we use two cans drained and then add a can of peas and salt and pepper. This will always be a favorite of mine. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTIMBROOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This is a great quick and easy meal. We adapt it for dinner by adding a can of drained peas and pouring over cooked rice or noodles. If you like, spice it up with a bit of ground red pepper. You can use any creamed soup you have on hand, we like cream of mushroom esp. with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
We make this recipe but make a roux from flour and butter. 'Tis really good~~~interesting to know that you can make it with celery soup! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This get 5 stars because it was a favorite childhood friday night supper. My mother always made the roux for a creamy white sauce instead of using creamed soup. We never had it on bread, rice, or potatoes. We had it on crushed potato chips!! Yes, try it before you scoff. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and boy, I'm glad I did. I added a small onion, diced, a can of baby peas, lots of garlic and onion powder, and went heavy on the black pepper. I also only used about 1/2 cup of milk. To be honest, I thought it was still a bit "bland" but my husband LOVED it. It was really true comfort food, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
A nice quick easy lunch. Made as is except I only used 1/2 cup of milk. Will surely do this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This recipe was good for something fast. The only change I will make next time I make this is to add less milk. It was really runny. Overall a good quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was great. So easy and tasted great. I also subbed cream of mushroom and added a chopped up green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I added onion powder,pepper and a handful of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I am a man and I don't like slaving over a stove. This meal is really easy to cook and quite deliciouse. And if you are counting calories then you will really appreciate this recipe. 4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States