Creamed Tuna On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
We make this recipe but make a roux from flour and butter. 'Tis really good~~~interesting to know that you can make it with celery soup! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I used cream of mushroom(don't like celery) didn't use milk either but added chopped red onion for crunch and ate it "open-face" with a slice of fresh tomato. Very good. Glad for change on the regular tuna salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This is a great quick and easy meal. We adapt it for dinner by adding a can of drained peas and pouring over cooked rice or noodles. If you like, spice it up with a bit of ground red pepper. You can use any creamed soup you have on hand, we like cream of mushroom esp. with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
In my humble beginnings, this was a meal that was often served at home; it's economical, filling, and fast. It's not gourmet, but it is good. Hadn't had it with canned soup, which is a very clever idea; I used mushroom soup as another reviewer suggested, and it was good. I also added peas, and believe it or not, maybe 1/4 to 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. Boyfriend is looking forward to the leftovers. Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was great. So easy and tasted great. I also subbed cream of mushroom and added a chopped up green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
My father made a recipe similar to this and I just wanted to make a suggestion! I'm not sure how he creamed his tuna but he would add frozen peas. Then he would serve over baked potato instead of toast. It's actually quite good with the baked potato!! My mother hated the recipe. My father remembered a similar recipe from his navy days in Vietnam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This turned out more like soup. I could not put it on a sandwich, it was too runny. It needs a lot less milk. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
You should serve this over toast open faced, not try to make a sandwich out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Pretty good for an extremely quick low-fat dinner. I sauteed a little onion and celery and then added the milk, soup and tuna. I served it over toast with a fat-free piece of cheese on it and shook quite a bit of black pepper on it. No need to add salt as there is already plenty of sodium in this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Nothing gourmet, but a good, quick easy meal. I added peas and a slice of cheese on top of each piece of toast. This is a great recipe when you need to make dinner with what you have on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States