Creamed Tuna On Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it using cream of mushroom soup, and added some chopped garlic, onions, carrots and peas to it. Served over fresh homemade cheese biscuits... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My mother taught me to make this when we were short on cash. We typically make our own cream sauce by whisking 1 tablespoon of butter with 2 tablespoons of flour and then very slowly adding a total of 2 cups of milk until it thickens. Whisk the flour and butter mixture constantly while adding the milk to reduce lumps. Then simmer it a bit and as it thickens add the tuna, we use two cans drained and then add a can of peas and salt and pepper. This will always be a favorite of mine. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTIMBROOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This get 5 stars because it was a favorite childhood friday night supper. My mother always made the roux for a creamy white sauce instead of using creamed soup. We never had it on bread, rice, or potatoes. We had it on crushed potato chips!! Yes, try it before you scoff. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is very tasty. I've been looking for ways to add fish to my diet and this is a quick and easy one. I cut the milk in half and doubled the tuna. I also added some chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Um guys....it's not SUPPOSED to be a sandwich, it's creamed tuna ON toast (not IN it).....that being said, it is still to runny for my liking and the taste was blah. Don't care to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This recipe was good for something fast. The only change I will make next time I make this is to add less milk. It was really runny. Overall a good quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe! We put it on rice instead of Toast. There were no leftovers and the kids were asking for more. Next time I will probly have to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
it could be a matter of personal taste, but we didn't become fans of this lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Nothing gourmet, but a good, quick easy meal. I added peas and a slice of cheese on top of each piece of toast. This is a great recipe when you need to make dinner with what you have on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Pretty good for an extremely quick low-fat dinner. I sauteed a little onion and celery and then added the milk, soup and tuna. I served it over toast with a fat-free piece of cheese on it and shook quite a bit of black pepper on it. No need to add salt as there is already plenty of sodium in this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States