Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This recipe gets 5 stars for taste, but only 3 for clear instructions. The instruction assume you know how to make a roux. Luckily I did so it was easy enough. I added two cloves of garlic to the roux...yummmm. I steamed the spinach, and used that water to make the roux, but it was not enough so I also added enough milk to make the 1/2 cup. It was GREAT! next time I might add some chopped onion. Garlic and onion make just about everything wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
this recipe has the basic ingredients to get you started, but it needs a little half and half to get the cream flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Thank you for uploading a recipe using fresh spinach and a roux! Almost all of the recipes on here just microwave frozen spinach and add fat free milk (bleck!). I doubled the amount of spinach and added a few crushed cloves of garlic to the butter when I was melting it to make the roux and about 1/2 cream after the roux had thickened to make it a bit creamer. You can also add 1 cup diced cooked artichoke hearts (or even the kind packed in water/oil) to make a spinach artichoke dip. Instead of garlic it is also really good with some nutmeg to make it taste Swedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I make this with a small package of frozen chopped spinach. Drain after cooking and make my roux with a little more butter and flour. Until a creamy consistency,then salt and pepper. Should cook roux a couple minutes to get rid of flour taste. It is pretty good. Thanks Terry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was very tasty. I made a couple of changes, after reading the other reviews. First, I steamed my spinach in vegetable broth and used that in my roux as well. I also added a tsp of garlic. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I'm only giving this three stars because to me, this wasn't the creamed spinach I'm used to eating. Where was the milk or cream? I kept reading the recipe thinking that maybe I just wasn't seeing it. After I made my roux I added milk to the pan, stirred until thickend and then added in my spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I had a craving for creamed spinach, and I have never made it before so wasnt sure what to look for in a recipe. I was craving something along the lines of boston market creamed spinach, so maybe its because I was wanting something specific that I didnt think this was great. Kind of bland, I did saute some onion in the butter before making the roux, but would like a little more flavor. Definately edible, just not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
As far as creamed spinach goes... this is the best creamed spinach I've had. However, it's still creamed spinach. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was met with mixed reviews. My husband and I couldn't even swallow our first spoonful (yuck!), but our 2 yearold couldn't get enough. He finished his, then cleaned off our plate as well. I'll make this again......for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
DId not care for this recipe as it was bland. Maybe I'll listen to what other suggest and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States