Creamed Spinach with Onions and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This was good but not great. However, my husband went back for seconds and he hates spinach. I used less spinach than the recipe called for (maybe 12 oz) and still found I had to add more milk and garlic powder than what the recipe called for. I also added some fresh parmesan cheese as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This has a wonderful flavor, however, it wasn't creamy enough for me. Next time I will double everything except the spinach. Still a great recipe! Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I thought it tasted fine, though have no frame of reference because I had never made bacon before. The recipe looks daunting, but it is quite easy if you follow it closely. The guest who really likes creamed spinach had two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I tried this recipe on a whim one night. It was alright for what it was,but I think the sauce could be creamier, or could use cheese incoporated into it. I think it is a basic recipe for a novice cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Colson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
it was goooood... I did use fresh Spinach about 10oz, chopped garlic glove (about 3 medium size),grana padano cheese, and pre-cooked chopped sausage. make sure you sateed the garlic, onions, sausage with butter first then spinach til the water is almost dry. then add the milk, cheese, butter, and flour. continue to stir it til very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought this was great. I was not crazy about the bacon so I think next time I will use it as a topper rather than part of the dish. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen. Fresh garlic rather than powder. I also added fresh grated parmesan cheese just before serving. I also would have liked it more creamer so I will experiment with that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
THIS IS A KEEPER.....I have 3 kids who hate cooked spinach, but they asked for 2nd and 3rds...I even added a little left over rice and cheese....AWESOME RECIPE...Thanks for sharing...I have printed and put this in a safe place...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I used fresh spinach and added fresh broccoli too. I thought the flavor was great. The sauce smelled and tased very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I was searching but could not find a previous recipe so I thought I'd give this one a try. It wasn't till after I started that I realized the recipe called for two packages of spinach and I only had one. I used all ingredients as called for except the one package and I cut back on the milk by 1/4 cup. I added a little nutmeg too. Although the bacon was good....it's not my favorite flavor to go with the creamed spinach. I might try some parmesan next time too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggieSuzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I didn't have any butter, so I actually fried the bacon, and then used the bacon fat in place of the butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States