Creamed Spinach with Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
My husband, who is a great fan of creamed spinach, was disappointed with this recipe. However, my stepson liked it so much he asked for the recipe. It's more of a spinach casserole than creamed spinach, but quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This is a really delicious way to eat spinach! I agree with others who say it's more like a dip than a side dish. Next time I make it, I'll add more jalapenos too, as the creaminess dulled down the spice (I like it hot!) I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Very good! The crumb topping was WAY too much, and it's definately better as a dip than an actual side dish. Mine was SPICY! and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Great recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I did not use the jalapeno pepper and used both grated monterey and grated pepperjack cheese as not everyone in my family is a fan of very hot dishes. But when I make it next for myself I will add the jalapeno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was just okay, but had potential. I left the crumbly topping off, and in the future will probably continue to do this and just craft it into more of a dip as others have suggested. I'm thinking of trying to incorporate it into some sort of ravioli filling, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was tastey, but I think it would be better as a dip than a side dish--too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Tasty, but way too greasy and fattening. There must be a way to cut some butter and calories. A little more time consuming than most creamed spinach dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My husband really enjoyed this. I added a seeded tomato to the spinach because I had one I needed to use; it gave it nice color. I also used plain monteray jack cheese instead of pepper jack to be sure it wasn't too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I very successfully converted this recipe into a dip by 1) doubling everything but the spinach (which makes it much creamier; more like a sauce than a side dish) and 2) leaving out the breadcrumbs. It was a *huge* hit at the dinner party: first thing gone, and I had folks asking if I had any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: West Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I made this a couple of weeks ago and it was really really good. I used a bit of skim milk since I didn't have evaporated milk and even added some ground red pepper. My husband really dislikes spinach but he was happy to eat this dish. I think I used it as a side with perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States