Creamed Spinach with Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
i am so, so sorry to put a bad review out there. i made this thinking i couldn't go wrong with two of my fav. things in the world--spinach and jalapenos. there just aren't any words to describe how foul this was and i can't think of any ingredients to make it *right*. i made the recipe exactly as written, took it to a fancy family dinner, and threw all the leftovers away (there was a LOT b/c no one ate it). the flavors did not meld one bit. it seriously tasted like taking a bite of spinach, then biting into a jalapeno. good luck to you if you decide to make this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I very successfully converted this recipe into a dip by 1) doubling everything but the spinach (which makes it much creamier; more like a sauce than a side dish) and 2) leaving out the breadcrumbs. It was a *huge* hit at the dinner party: first thing gone, and I had folks asking if I had any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOESKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: West Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This recipe was awesome! I used 1/2 fresh minced onion, 2% milk, and cubed my cheese (no grater). It paired really nice with salmon and carrots. I am never buying premade creamed spinach again! Update: Tried again only subbing motzerella and a scotch bonnet pepper.... Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I've used a similar recipe for years with raves from friends/family (a holiday favorite). I used to use the Kraft 6oz roll of jalepeno cheese (instead of pepperjack) but can't find it anymore. I've taken to substituting jalepeno cheese whiz. This recipe stretches just by adding more spinach. It is really best if refrigerated overnight for the flavors to blend. It also freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Made this twice. First time I followed the recipe as-is and really enjoyed the outcome. Second time, I substituted Gruyere cheese and added pepper flakes instead of the pepper jack cheese. It was a creamier and smoother mixture. I also substituted about a 1/4 of the spinach for mustard greens to give it a bit more of a bite. That tasted really good when it was a fresh dish but the mustard greens had lost too much of their flavor in the left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Very good! The crumb topping was WAY too much, and it's definately better as a dip than an actual side dish. Mine was SPICY! and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Great recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I did not use the jalapeno pepper and used both grated monterey and grated pepperjack cheese as not everyone in my family is a fan of very hot dishes. But when I make it next for myself I will add the jalapeno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was was a great and easy dish. I used an onion roll for the bread crumbs and it added a nice flavor. The jalepeno i used was pretty big, so this dish left an impact on my tongue! It was perfect for my husband and I who both love spicy stuff. He suggested that it might be good with tortilla chips - like a spinach dip. I'll prbly try with the leftovers - what little there are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is great over pasta with crumbled Blue Cheese, diced tomato & a little heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfpOne23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This recipe is sooo good. I added some canadian bacon and it is delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States