Creamed Spinach with Jalapenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I followed this recipe to the T, but it just did not come out right, it was terrible, will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I almost didn't try this after reading the only other review but I really liked the ingredients so decided to give it a try. I did add one more jalapeno and a bit more cheese than called for. I thought that it was a great side dish. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I've used a similar recipe for years with raves from friends/family (a holiday favorite). I used to use the Kraft 6oz roll of jalepeno cheese (instead of pepperjack) but can't find it anymore. I've taken to substituting jalepeno cheese whiz. This recipe stretches just by adding more spinach. It is really best if refrigerated overnight for the flavors to blend. It also freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was was a great and easy dish. I used an onion roll for the bread crumbs and it added a nice flavor. The jalepeno i used was pretty big, so this dish left an impact on my tongue! It was perfect for my husband and I who both love spicy stuff. He suggested that it might be good with tortilla chips - like a spinach dip. I'll prbly try with the leftovers - what little there are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This recipe was awesome! I used 1/2 fresh minced onion, 2% milk, and cubed my cheese (no grater). It paired really nice with salmon and carrots. I am never buying premade creamed spinach again! Update: Tried again only subbing motzerella and a scotch bonnet pepper.... Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was so yummy, yet so easy. My fiance was very impressed with it!! I will definitely make this again - and would like to try it as a dip as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I made this a couple of weeks ago and it was really really good. I used a bit of skim milk since I didn't have evaporated milk and even added some ground red pepper. My husband really dislikes spinach but he was happy to eat this dish. I think I used it as a side with perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I very successfully converted this recipe into a dip by 1) doubling everything but the spinach (which makes it much creamier; more like a sauce than a side dish) and 2) leaving out the breadcrumbs. It was a *huge* hit at the dinner party: first thing gone, and I had folks asking if I had any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: West Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My husband really enjoyed this. I added a seeded tomato to the spinach because I had one I needed to use; it gave it nice color. I also used plain monteray jack cheese instead of pepper jack to be sure it wasn't too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Tasty, but way too greasy and fattening. There must be a way to cut some butter and calories. A little more time consuming than most creamed spinach dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States