Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Four stars as written, Five stars with a few changes, as others also suggested. 1. Saute a small onion in butter until very soft. 2. Saute a couple of cloves of garlic after the onion. Add the onion and garlic to the cream sauce. 3. Add 1/4 cup cream and 1 tsp flour to the recommended cream, and wisk this together. This will make the cream sauce thicker. 4. Reduce the nutmeg just a bit- you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
The nutmeg is the thing!! This is an excellent recipe. It is comparable to the spinach you get at Bostom Market and Buckheads Very quick and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I gave this recipe 4 Stars because I wouldn't use it "as is" without some additions. However, it is a good basic recipe & reminds me of my Granny's creamed spinach. I add(ed) finely chopped onions, Parmesan cheese, salted butter & garlic salt. I also used bagged (vs. boxed), frozen spinach heated up in the microwave. (It's the "driest" way I know to cook spinach.) I served this (my) rendition at Christmas and it was good enough that the kids ate it w/out complaint. :-) I'll have to try it with bacon, as some Reviewers suggested. That would be a nice variation, I think. Oh, yeah: I do like the nutmeg in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I sauteed a small onion and 2 cloved of garlic in 1 Tbsp of butter until soft. Then added the seasoning and spinach. I sauteed that just a minute to warm the spinach. I added just a touch under 1/2 cup cream (that's all I had). It turned out GREAT! I'm the only one in my house who like spinach and it was gone in two meals. It was close the creamed spinach at Boston Market..only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Good recipe with some changes. Original recipe is soupy. Add 1/4 cup more heavy cream and 1 tablespoon of flour to cream sauce. This will thicken it up. If you aren't a huge nutmeg fan, half the recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I had spinche I needed to use but no heavy cream...hence I made 1 Cup of standard medium white sauce (2 T butter,2 T flour,1 C milk, 1/4 t salt, 1/8 t white pepper)and served in a individual pastry tart shells. It was elegant and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
In the words of my 12yr. old son, "WOW!" This recipe was a big hit. Let's face it Boston Market makes the BEST creamed spinach, but this recipe is a great home version. Like others I altered it a bit. Used an extra 1/4 cup of cream. Cut the nutmeg in half, used 1 T of flour, 1/4 c parmesan, 1/4 c chopped onion, 2 cloves of garlic and 3oz. of cream cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaffair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a good base recipe. The changes I make are that I used salted butter, half-and-half to trim some fat, Vidalia onion (about 1/4 of one), and I add about 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese to add richness to the taste. Let me tell you, it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I read the reviews before I tried this dish, but thought I would try it anyway, as many said it was watery. It turned out great, the only thing I changed, was to spin it dry after washing and I wilted the spinach in the pan, in the sauce, at med-high heat. I did not steam it before. The sauce coated the spinach just fine. I did add some cooked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I'm giving this 2 stars because it has potential, but really, no one in my family could finish it. I was skeptical about the amount of nutmeg - its not a "little bit" - it was a lot! I can see where half as much might have been nice, but none of us ate more than a few bites. I will try this again with no more than 1/2 the nutmeg suggested. Also, I don't see the need for a food processor - it seems like you'd get mush. Just drain the spinach, put it on a cutting board and use a knife to chop it up a bit. And a tip: if you're more likely to have cream cheese in the fridge, you can substitute it nicely for the heavy cream. Just add it in with the spinach and stir to melt it without burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States