Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
In the words of my 12yr. old son, "WOW!" This recipe was a big hit. Let's face it Boston Market makes the BEST creamed spinach, but this recipe is a great home version. Like others I altered it a bit. Used an extra 1/4 cup of cream. Cut the nutmeg in half, used 1 T of flour, 1/4 c parmesan, 1/4 c chopped onion, 2 cloves of garlic and 3oz. of cream cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaffair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Like some other reviewers I used this recipe as a base and added to my own taste. Still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
No one coulde stomach this recipe. Even after I doctored it up A LOT, two of my children still wouldn't eat it. I wouldn't reccomend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a good base recipe. The changes I make are that I used salted butter, half-and-half to trim some fat, Vidalia onion (about 1/4 of one), and I add about 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese to add richness to the taste. Let me tell you, it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I also added 1/4 cup chopped vidalia onion, 1 clove of garlic, and 1 T. flour. Delicious! My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Just like going out to dinner at the finest restaurants. Added 1/2 c sauteed onion and 2 cloves garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Four stars as written, Five stars with a few changes, as others also suggested. 1. Saute a small onion in butter until very soft. 2. Saute a couple of cloves of garlic after the onion. Add the onion and garlic to the cream sauce. 3. Add 1/4 cup cream and 1 tsp flour to the recommended cream, and wisk this together. This will make the cream sauce thicker. 4. Reduce the nutmeg just a bit- you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was delicious. I am in the Peace Corps and in my region I have acces to fresh spinach all the time and this was a great use for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
We love this recipe; my 3 yr old often requests it. We use frozen spinach and it works well. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
yum yum yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States