Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The sauce was good, the problem was chopping up the spinach in the food processor. It came out way to fine even after just one or two pulses. When I added it to the sauce it just blended in, for additional texture I added steamed whole spinach leaves. I think that if I make it again I'll omit the chopping and mix in whole spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Sorry, but this was a huge disappointment and a waste of $ with my using organic spinach and heavy cream. I followed the recipe and it was bland and watery. Update- I was able to salvage it nicely with the addition of minced, sauteed onion and garlic, about a quarter cup of cream cheese and a handful of defrosted sweet peas. My kids liked it a lot and were disappointed there wasn't seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
As written, I found it rather bland, hence the 3 stars. With suggested changes from other reviewers (saute onion and garlic, parm cheese) it was a 5 star. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was excellent. Even my kids liked it. Next time I'll back off on the salt--as the sauce cooked down, it ended up too salty, but still very good. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Yummy with some changes. Add onion and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Good recipe, but needs some onion and/or garlic if a person likes and can have garlic. I can't. I would saute and carmelize the onion for more flavor. When I make this I chop the spinach first not after it's cooked. Just use a knife to do it, no need to drag out the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I love spinach, and creamed spinach is my all time favorite, this recipe made it so easy that I will no longer by the boil in the bag type. I chopped my spinach prior to steaming; I just thought that was easier, I also used fresh grated nutmeg. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
excellant flavor combinations, the nutmeg does the trick, along with the parmesaen cheese added at the end of cooking...my daughter craves this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hellen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Altamont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Simple to make, tasty. I agree that the nutmeg flavor is the key here. Otherwise it would just be runny creamed spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
In the words of my 12yr. old son, "WOW!" This recipe was a big hit. Let's face it Boston Market makes the BEST creamed spinach, but this recipe is a great home version. Like others I altered it a bit. Used an extra 1/4 cup of cream. Cut the nutmeg in half, used 1 T of flour, 1/4 c parmesan, 1/4 c chopped onion, 2 cloves of garlic and 3oz. of cream cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaffair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States