Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Delicious. I didn't have fresh spinach so I used frozen spinach that I defrosted and got all the water out of. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
As written it is as many have said soupy. Add the 1/4 Cup cream extra and 1/4 cup grated parmesan. I found 1/4 tsp of nutmeg just about right. The onions and clove of garlic sauted in 1 T. of butter worked well. Also added 1 T of flour mixed into enough cream to smoothly incorporate. Went well with some cured thick cut pork chops and au gratin broccoli and rice Oh, and both kids ate it !! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Even though I tweaked the method of preparing this, I used virtually the same ingredients, so I'm giving the recipe a 5 for taste... My quicker method was to saute the coarsely chopped fresh spinach in the butter until wilted. Next I sprinkled on the flour and mixed well. Nutmeg, salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder were followed by 2% milk. Simmer for a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I did tinker with this recipe as others suggested. Turned out delicious. As you might guess, it's a bit of 3 steps forward for eating your veggies and 7 steps backward for all the delicious creamy goodness. So, have your cholesterol checked first, then enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Excellent way to get your spinach! I did not add nutmeg, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsReid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
this was soooo good I couldn't stop eating spoonfuls out of the pot!! I used fat free half&half because thats what i had on hand and frozen spinach. hmmmm hmmmmm good!!!! Oh, i forgot i also added sauteed onions and garlic to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very tasty. I added 1/2 of a large onion and 2 garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I have used this recipe twice and both times it needed a little tweeking. This is pretty good, they lost a star for forgetting the garlic and also for how many pans they used. We used one pan. Started the garlic (1 clove) then the sauce and threw the spinach in over med-low heat. I used a 1/4 teaspoon flour for thickener but I probably could have used half that (used this when I made a half batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I'm giving it 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exact, but it turned out delicious! I chopped the spinach before cooking by hand. I sauted a little bit of onion, added cream, butter, 1/2 of nutmeg, and salt. (I had to substitute milk/butter for heavy cream since I didn't have any on hand). I also added cream cheese. Brought the mixture to a boil while the spinach was steaming. Added it all together, brought to boil, added parm cheese on top and . . . yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States