Creamed Spinach III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I like this recipe, but I had to make some changes due to what I had on hand. I chopped a small shallot and sauteed that with some garlic in some butter and olive oil. I don't always measure stuff so I just wing it. I didn't have heavy cream, so I concocted some from reading what other reviewers suggested by mixing 3/4 cup milk (2%) and 1/4 cup melted butter. I added a TBSP of flour and a couple shakes of nutmeg and let it thicken, then I added a 16 ox box of fresh spinach. My husband loved it!! I will be making this again, but I will use real heavy cream next time. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very good! Made a few minor changes based on what I had. Used 1/2 and 1/2 and (2) packages of frozen spinach. Used only 1/4 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Loved the spinach! Didn't change a thing and my child even ate it which was a complete miracle. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Gave this 5 stars thanks to ABoston's suggestions. I also added the juice of 1/2 a lemon which sent it over the top. Even my picky kids asked for seconds. I could eat this several times a week! Just like the creamed spinach at all the Italian restaurants on the East Coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
i used milk instead...little more liguid but added freshly grated parm cheese...the nutmeg MADE this dish. Tasted even better over smashed yukin gold spuds for a veggie filling dinner! 4 plus stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I added the chopped onion, garlic, flour and parmesan. I used only 1/4t of ground nutmeg. It was great I will use this often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
As written, this recipe would have been very bland, but (as the other reviewers stated) it is a good base recipe. I took other reviewers' advice and used frozen spinach, added a little flour and extra cream to thicken the sauce, added half a chopped onion, and 2 cloves of garlic. I also halved the nutmeg, and added garlic and onion powders. The nutmeg was still pretty strong, but it was good. Even though it came out alright, I think it was missing depth or richness. Maybe next time I'll use salted butter, and add some cream cheese or some shredded 6 cheese italian blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
i added sauteed chopped onion & garlic, used 2% milk instead of cream. YUM. only advice - avoid the food processor! steaming is good enough; processing will turn your spinach to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARIPOSEY01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Added 1 T. garlic to sauce. Also, did not chop spinach. Added parmesean cheese before serving.... Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States