Creamed Spinach from Oikos® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It has a different taste then what we usually expect for creamed spinach. For us the tang of the yogurt didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe was a hit with the whole family... including my 10, 8, and 5 year olds! Super nutritious to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Acceptable as a healthier substitute for the usual cream base. Better for you, for sure, but don't expect it to taste as delicious as the normal kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was really good, I did use 1TBSP of coconut oil instead of the butter and sauteed a sweet onion and garlic before I did the flour. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Very yummy! It was good the first time, but still pretty rich, even though I used a 1lb bag of spinach. The 2nd time around I used organic virgin coconut oil instead of butter, whole wheat flour, and only about a 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt. I also used mushroom broth ("Better than Bouillon" brand, a broth paste you can keep in the fridge). Even my husband, who is a bit grossed out by the texture of spinach, liked this! That's success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
The recipe was easy and quick. However,it is very bland. That said, will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
The recipe was super easy and quick. However, as written, it is very bland. I added a bit of flavor by including some fresh minced garlic and a bit of cayenne pepper. Overall, I guess it is a good way to dress up frozen spinach but I've definitely had tastier side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
So good and easy! I love spinach, but have a hard time getting my hubby to eat it, but he devoured it! I was skeptical since it didn't have any cheese in it, but it doesn't need it at all! I used fresh spinach and added it with the broth and wilted it for a few minutes. Yum! Update: This is a normal side for us now. I have added even more flavor by adding 1/2 an onion and garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Easy to make and very good. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Just made this recipe - my husband isn't a huge spinach person HOWEVER he LOVED this too!!! AND I have cholesterol issues so the greek yogurt was perfect :-) I've always thought of creamed spinach as a 'no no' since it usually has so much cheese in it - not so any longer, yeah!!! Easy to make and good for you too - would highly recommend, doesn't get much better than that! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Twice-Baked Potatoes

These reduced calorie, twice-baked potatoes are a family favorite.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States