Creamed Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Like others I added some items to this recipe, it sounds a little bland as is. I sauteed a sliced onion almost to caramelization and then tossed in some chopped shallot. I didn't use the lemon pepper. Instead I used a large sprinkle of nutmeg and some salt and pepper. I heated the cream cheese and spinach in the same cast iron skillet until I could mix it well and then sprinkled it with the juice of one lemon before baking. It was delicious. I think this is a good base for adding what you might have on hand to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I cooked the spinach and cream cheese in a sauce pan over med heat untill the cream cheese started to melt. (I didn't use the milk) I added half of 1 small purple onion, minced, and continued to cook the mixture for about 10 mins. I sprinkled a little nutmeg in once I had removed it from the heat. I pressed it into my baking dish and sprinkled it with minteray jack, cheddar, and parm cheese. It baked up very nicely. Very good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
The other reviewers were correct. This recipe needs something more, like garlic or onions. Nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
The cream cheese was runny and overpowering, the lemon pepper was just the wrong taste, and the crackers seemed like a strange afterthought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Very good. I added about 1/3 cup of sour cream to the mixture for a little added creaminess.. Husband really liked this, and he is picky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Very yummy! I even got my non-veggie son to eat it. Well after I convinced him the Ninja Turtles ate it! Definetely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was OK. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I cooked this as a side dish for my family. They loved it, but I have to doctor it up with my own seasoning mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
It wasn't one of my favorites, I would like to try another spinach recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I love creamed spinach but this wasn't as good as the one I normally make- I didn't have cream of celery soup on hand so I used this recipe as a substitute for my standard one- I added in onion and garlic and used seasoned salt rather than the lemon pepper- I wasn't crazy about the crackers on top- good but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States