Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used fresh spinach and simplified steps. I made the roux in a dutch oven, adding garlic early. Then I mixed in chopped fresh spinach, covered the pot, and removed from heat. Stirred in cheese and dusted with nutmeg and pepper. -- Since I used fresh spinach and removed it from the heat it maintained more of its shape and character, but you can let it cook down more if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Wow! My 11 and 9 yr olds fought over the last of this. It's that good and very easy. I didn't read the directions, but having cooked for a number of years, I figured out the method. OK, it wasn't as written but I had fabulous results. So I melted the butter in a saucepan, then gently cooked the garlic. Then I made this into a white sauce of sorts w/ the flour and milk. I squeezed my spinach dry as I don't care for that liquid in the spinach (tastes like the freezer), so I added more milk. It got a little dry while waiting to serve it, so I threw in some fatfree half and half (what a wonderful invention!!!). Add the nutmeg - freshly ground if you have it. It adds just the right touch to a creamed dish. I used white pepper and sea salt and plenty of fresh parm.. YUMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This dish was way too yummy. I added a few extra indregients(cream and ricotta cheeses), topped with both shredded and grated parmesan cheese and baked it off in the oven until bubbly and golden. I also subtituted the whole milk with evaporated milk and used an extra 1/4 cup of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very good. I used a 16 ounce bag of spinach (frozen squeezed dry) and cooked it apx. 1/2 cup of the milk in micro then i made a roux of the ings and cooked till thick and added spinach (it will then thin out) I also added 1 tsp of nutmeg. They ate it all!! I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I LOVE creamed spinach, and this is not bad recipe for a basic start. I like that is was quick and easy and used frozen spinach. However, I like more 'sauce' on my creamed spinach and the flavor was just shy of being 'really good' - and I even added a small amount of dried chopped onions. I will make this again, but will make more sauce and try additions to ramp-up the flavor - more garlic, sauted onions, maybe bacon... guess it'll have to be a work in progress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My favorite coffee shop recently stopped offering creamed spinach as a veggie option on their menu and I was devastated! I had never made creamed spinach from scratch at home, so I was looking for a simple recipe. This was exactly what I was looking for! The only thing I did differently was to skip the microwave step, sauteeing the garlic in the butter before making the roux in my dutch oven, and I used a pound of fresh baby spinach instead of frozen (next time I'll use a pound and a half). Even my daughter, who doesn't like cooked spinach, ate hers without complaint! Thanks for a great recipe that will absolutely be a regular in my kitchen :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe was very blah as written (I omitted the nutmeg, but used plenty of garlic). It was not creamy enough. So, I made a separate batch of the cream, using 1 3/4 c. of milk and the same amount of butter and flour and added that plus 1/2 c. extra of parmesan. It was pretty good then. Thanks for the base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I used tapioca flour instead of wheat flour (son's allergies), left out the garlic and increased the butter...so it wasn't exactly the same recipe, but it was so easy and my son who doesn't like spinach asked for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I only had skim milk onhand, so I added a couple tablespoons of whipped cream cheese to give it a creamier texture. I think the lack of "zing" a few have noticed comes from using frozen rather than fresh spinach. This is a good basic recipe, but I'll saute fresh spinach when making it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I needed to bring creamed spinach to a school potluck since I volunteered to make sides and creamed spinach was what was voted on....great...the one side dish i've had a million times but never made for myself. Followed the recipe except for nutmeg (didn't have any) and made it more like how i'm used to it (chicago bergoff style) with red pepper flakes and a few shakes of mexican hot sauce which gave it a nice kick but wasn't overpoweringly spicy since it was for a crowd. Everyone ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States