Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I have admired Pam Anderson for years, I even have one of her cookbooks, so I had high expectations for this recipe. I followed the recipe as written, making no changes (which is unusual for me). I was disappointed. The dish was okay, but somehow flat. It needs something, but I can't put my finger on it. I'll try it again, but I'll play with it and try and find the missing ingredient to give the flavor I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
All I can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This was really good and I'm glad I used fresh grated nutmeg. I sauteed a HUGE bag of fresh spinach that I roughly chopped in some olive oil instead of using frozen. It really takes about as much time as zapping the frozen stuff in the microwave. Anyway, great basic recipe. I'll use some shallots or gruyere cheese instead... just to mix things up a bit. I could have made a meal out of this deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Good. Added a bit more cheese, but, overall, it was a nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This tasted good, but it's a bit labor intensive. I sauteed the garlic first, with half a chopped onion. I took points off since there's nothing in the directions to indicate when the last three ingredients should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was great. Big hit at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is really good! I'd never made creamed spinach before, so I was really excited with how this turned out. It was a spur of the moment decision to make this, and I didn't have the exact ingredients, but I was able to follow the recipe pretty closely. The only real difference was that I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of whole milk. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
First time making creamed spinach - this recipe was ok. Too much nutmeg for me, I preferred about half that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very good. I used a 16 ounce bag of spinach (frozen squeezed dry) and cooked it apx. 1/2 cup of the milk in micro then i made a roux of the ings and cooked till thick and added spinach (it will then thin out) I also added 1 tsp of nutmeg. They ate it all!! I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States