Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I LOVE creamed spinach, and this is not bad recipe for a basic start. I like that is was quick and easy and used frozen spinach. However, I like more 'sauce' on my creamed spinach and the flavor was just shy of being 'really good' - and I even added a small amount of dried chopped onions. I will make this again, but will make more sauce and try additions to ramp-up the flavor - more garlic, sauted onions, maybe bacon... guess it'll have to be a work in progress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Loved it! Used lots of garlic and parm cheese...yummy!! Used 1% milk and it was nice and creamy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trumpet Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was ok, and I did eat it, but nothing great. Probably wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This recipe was very blah as written (I omitted the nutmeg, but used plenty of garlic). It was not creamy enough. So, I made a separate batch of the cream, using 1 3/4 c. of milk and the same amount of butter and flour and added that plus 1/2 c. extra of parmesan. It was pretty good then. Thanks for the base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Excellent!! I fixed it for my son and I for Christmas Dinner (husband doesn't like spinach. It was so great!! It was my first time to fix it. MMMMM...a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Excellent...I used 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a great tasting easy recipe. The only thing I changed is I used 2% milk b/c thats all I had and it still came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This dish was way too yummy. I added a few extra indregients(cream and ricotta cheeses), topped with both shredded and grated parmesan cheese and baked it off in the oven until bubbly and golden. I also subtituted the whole milk with evaporated milk and used an extra 1/4 cup of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Love this dish and this was the best I've ever tasted! And so easy, too. I only had one box of spinach, so I quartered the recipe. You have to be careful not to overdo the nutmeg. Too much causes a little bitterness. Next time I will make the full batch. Wonder how this freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great dish! I added some cayenne pepper for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahirah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States