Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Wow! My 11 and 9 yr olds fought over the last of this. It's that good and very easy. I didn't read the directions, but having cooked for a number of years, I figured out the method. OK, it wasn't as written but I had fabulous results. So I melted the butter in a saucepan, then gently cooked the garlic. Then I made this into a white sauce of sorts w/ the flour and milk. I squeezed my spinach dry as I don't care for that liquid in the spinach (tastes like the freezer), so I added more milk. It got a little dry while waiting to serve it, so I threw in some fatfree half and half (what a wonderful invention!!!). Add the nutmeg - freshly ground if you have it. It adds just the right touch to a creamed dish. I used white pepper and sea salt and plenty of fresh parm.. YUMMMMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I only had skim milk onhand, so I added a couple tablespoons of whipped cream cheese to give it a creamier texture. I think the lack of "zing" a few have noticed comes from using frozen rather than fresh spinach. This is a good basic recipe, but I'll saute fresh spinach when making it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was an excellent recipe!! I used fat-free milk and Asiago cheese... YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURALLYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: West Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I think this is terrific with a few changes. I sauteed fresh spinach and drained well. I cooked garlic in butter with about a half a cup of minced onion,flour until blended & then added the milk to make a cream sauce. I scraped maybe an pinch of nutmeg and zapped it up with a little cayenne. I used a little bit more parmesan & threw in a bit of swiss cheese. Delicious! Thanks so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used fresh spinach and simplified steps. I made the roux in a dutch oven, adding garlic early. Then I mixed in chopped fresh spinach, covered the pot, and removed from heat. Stirred in cheese and dusted with nutmeg and pepper. -- Since I used fresh spinach and removed it from the heat it maintained more of its shape and character, but you can let it cook down more if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Yum! I substituted garlic powder for the minced garlic just because that's what I had on hand. It was very tasty, though. I had this with the French's Onions Crispy Parmesan Chicken and it was really good. I actually thought this was better creamed spinach than I recently had in an upscale restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've never made creamed spinach before. I had to borrow 2% milk from my neighbor b/c we only had skim. I used the leftover amount of a bag of frozen spinach and just winged it with the amounts of ingredients. I didn't really measure anything. I used fresh garlic. And the recipe turned out great. That never happens for me. My husband is the real fan of creamed spinach and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was pretty good. I halved the recipe. It felt like something was missing so I added about two tablespoons of cream cheese and it came out perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I LOVE creamed spinach, and this is not bad recipe for a basic start. I like that is was quick and easy and used frozen spinach. However, I like more 'sauce' on my creamed spinach and the flavor was just shy of being 'really good' - and I even added a small amount of dried chopped onions. I will make this again, but will make more sauce and try additions to ramp-up the flavor - more garlic, sauted onions, maybe bacon... guess it'll have to be a work in progress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States