Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
It was okay, and I will probably make again. My family felt it had too much nutmeg and could've used more salt. Which I added quite a bit to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pima, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My favorite coffee shop recently stopped offering creamed spinach as a veggie option on their menu and I was devastated! I had never made creamed spinach from scratch at home, so I was looking for a simple recipe. This was exactly what I was looking for! The only thing I did differently was to skip the microwave step, sauteeing the garlic in the butter before making the roux in my dutch oven, and I used a pound of fresh baby spinach instead of frozen (next time I'll use a pound and a half). Even my daughter, who doesn't like cooked spinach, ate hers without complaint! Thanks for a great recipe that will absolutely be a regular in my kitchen :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made the cream spinach and it was very good!! I think this recipe is better than the cream spinach from Ruth Chris Steak House. I also saved some money and had plenty of left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this dish to accompany a prime rib I made for my family. I did make one change to my version. Less nutmeg for us...its so overpowering. Besides that, it was a lovely side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskatie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Pretty yummy. I'd never had spinach this way before. This recipe makes BIG servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very tasty, and I used canned spinach (if you do, just drain it well and use 2 cans). I did have to add a few more spices and some more milk to make my sauce creamy, but it turned out well. Even my toddler liked it, so I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow! If you want me to describe how this tastes, it's almost like a light Alfredo sauce. I made chicken meatballs, rice and this creamed spinach recipe with fresh spinach. Can't wait to eat, I'm about to set the table but had to say "wow" and "yummy" first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
As did others, I used this as a base recipe, following the method exactly. I added in chopped green onion with the garlic, used 2 cups milk instead of part spinach liquid, added another 1/4 c. Parm. and 2 T. cream cheese.... and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I doubled the garlic for my family. It tasted great, but was rather thick. I'm used to more liquid in my creamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States