Creamed Salmon on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Yum!! This was extremely easy & fast & delicious! I made it with diced carrots instead of the peas because I don't like that kind of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
My mom always made this with either tuna or salmon when I was growing up. I've made it for my own family for the last 40 years, always by changing it here and there depending on what I have in the pantry. Tonight I used leftover grilled salmon which worked out fine. Besides the onions I added parsley, garlic and RED BOAT FISH SAUCE. I also used 2 cups of milk instead of one because we like it not so thick...let it cook down to the right consistency. Served over toasted English Muffins with a side salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have never made anything from canned salmon but salmon patties! This recipe sounded so good I had to give it a try with a few changes, I didn't have any peas. I saute finely chopped onion, celery and portabella mushrooms in the butter. Then whisk in 1/4 cup flour......added the juice from the can of salmom, 1 1/2 Tbsp. Honey mustard that I made from honey, mayonnaise and regular mustard. And 2 cups milk ( less or more as needed for consistency). Then stired in the flaked salmon along with salt and pepper to taste. Served over Texas toast along with saute small diced potatoes with onions and an egg over easy. This was so good, my husband can't stop raving about it! I will try the original ingredients when I have peas on hand the next time , as I realize I changed it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I come from po-folks so salmon when I was a kid was too expensive. Tuna is what my mom used. I'd totally forgotten about this dish. I haven't had it in forty five years or more. It was great having it again. My dad, loved it to. Oh, I put it over thick slices of multi-grain toast. That really made it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I had never heard of this before! I made it for myself when my husband was out of town. I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this. I love tuna noodle casserole, so I thought I might like it. I didn't have canned peas, so I used frozen ones, and I substituted vegetable broth for the pea liquid. Great one pan meal! Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy Lessard
Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Made this recipe this evening.......It`s an old familiar dish that my mother made often. We also had hard boiled eggs and fresh fried potatoes with it. Oh it was and still is soooo good.I have always added the "juice" from the canned salmon and often dried dill weed, sometimes garlic and onion powder. Comfort food is correct,and I am 80.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Nostalgic dish that's bland bland bland. I added a good squeeze of yellow mustard from the bottle to give it SOME kick and flavor. It helped. Also I substituted about a quarter cup of the milk for the salmon water out of the can to enhance the salmon flavor. I'd definitely advise adding mustard or dill or paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Great recipe. The same my mother and my grandmother made, only we ate it over broken up saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
next time I will make salmon patties and serve with creamed peas on top. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babymama'10
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is my first time eating this. It's absolutely wonderful. On suggestion from other viewers, I sautéed onion, celery and parsley in butter/olive oil combo. Dellliiiisshhh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fishing Wild Salmon

See the Knutson family recipe for pan-fried wild salmon.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States