Creamed Peas and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This has been one of my family's favorite dishes for years with one variation. Try frying 4 slices of bacon until crisp. Drain and set aside. Make the light roux with 4T bacon drippings instead of the butter. Season with Creole seasoning to taste and crumble bacon into finished dish. There are never any leftovers and even pea-haters love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I was looking for a quick simple recipe for creamed peas, and found this. I used one can of peas and cut the ingredients in half for a speedy side dish and it still tasted yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This was okay but I thought it would be better with canned or fresh peas. The thawed peas kind of have a thick, waxy skin. I think they're fine to use as an ingredient in a recipe but when it's the main ingredient, it's very noticeable. It might help if the peas were blanched or parboiled first instead of just thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was a hit at thanksgiving - my dad especially liked it. I think I added quite a bit of salt and pepper in the end, and that's all the flavoring this dish needed. Thanks! This one is easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I was surprised at how fast and easy this was to make. I had never heard of creamed peas and onions before, but now I know! My husband, who swears he doesn't like peas seemed to enjoy it. I only had frozen peas, so I just added raw chopped onion with the peas. It worked out great and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I needed a side dish for "Best Ever Chicken Casserole" tonight, and this recipe did the trick. I have fond memories of my grandma's creamed peas and this is darn close to the taste I remember. Don't forget to add a little salt and pepper. It's so good, you might think about having this for the main course next time. I like COSMOSCHNAUZ's suggestions and will try them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Quick and easy! Just like grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was pretty bland and blah, but a good base for some more flavorful variations. i think if you grew up eating creamed peas and onions, this is a perfect traditional recipe. If not, try using separate frozen peas and onions and brown the onions first. The bacon would probably jazz it up too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
this was just eh. It tasted like peas in white gravy. Very bland. It definitely needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
When making this sauce I would suggest that you cook the butter and flour together - gently, you don't want it to brown but you do want to cook the flour. It should smell like pie crust cooking then add COLD milk for a smooth and velvety sauce. I add a pinch of nutmeg along with the salt and pepper, it makes a huge difference in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States