Creamed Peas and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
When making this sauce I would suggest that you cook the butter and flour together - gently, you don't want it to brown but you do want to cook the flour. It should smell like pie crust cooking then add COLD milk for a smooth and velvety sauce. I add a pinch of nutmeg along with the salt and pepper, it makes a huge difference in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe just the way it is thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This dish was a perfect side dish for Christmas Dinner. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I used canned peas instead of frozen ones and I also used fresh pearl onions - am very glad I did! I loved the taste and didn't find it bland but, I did add alot of fresh ground pepper and I do understand how some may feel like it is still missing something. A reviewer had mentioned adding nutmeg, I think I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Made this for a sick friend and her family, along with Famous Butter Chicken and Baked Corn, all these recipes are on this site. I doubled this recipe. Make sure you use fresh, not frozen onion, as it makes a TON of difference. Also, use "Real Bacon Pieces", but you need to use WAY more than the equivalent of 4 pieces. Use to taste. They went crazy over this, and the whole dinner. I tasted this and can't wait to make it for my own family. I had never had anything like this in my life, and it will now be a regular on my menu!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
My mother used to make this for the family when I was younger. Loved it! The only variation was that she added sliced, hard boiled eggs. And it was served on home made Garlic Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was a really fast side dish and worked great in a pich when I needed a veg side dish but was low on veggies. I only had frozen peas so I chopped up some onion and sauteed it in butter before making the flour paste. I served this as a side with stuffed chicken breasts and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I really liked this recipe. For some reason, I dont' like peas by themselves, I can catch them on my fork. This is very good. I didn't have the onions and pea freezer mixture, so I sauteed my own onions and added water and the peas, before I made my white sauce and put it in the pea and onion mixture. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohio Cook Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was just okay. I found it to be too thick. I will try it again, but plan to add much more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
real good basic recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States