Creamed Peas and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This dish was a perfect side dish for Christmas Dinner. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I used canned peas instead of frozen ones and I also used fresh pearl onions - am very glad I did! I loved the taste and didn't find it bland but, I did add alot of fresh ground pepper and I do understand how some may feel like it is still missing something. A reviewer had mentioned adding nutmeg, I think I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Made this for a sick friend and her family, along with Famous Butter Chicken and Baked Corn, all these recipes are on this site. I doubled this recipe. Make sure you use fresh, not frozen onion, as it makes a TON of difference. Also, use "Real Bacon Pieces", but you need to use WAY more than the equivalent of 4 pieces. Use to taste. They went crazy over this, and the whole dinner. I tasted this and can't wait to make it for my own family. I had never had anything like this in my life, and it will now be a regular on my menu!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
My mother used to make this for the family when I was younger. Loved it! The only variation was that she added sliced, hard boiled eggs. And it was served on home made Garlic Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was a really fast side dish and worked great in a pich when I needed a veg side dish but was low on veggies. I only had frozen peas so I chopped up some onion and sauteed it in butter before making the flour paste. I served this as a side with stuffed chicken breasts and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I really liked this recipe. For some reason, I dont' like peas by themselves, I can catch them on my fork. This is very good. I didn't have the onions and pea freezer mixture, so I sauteed my own onions and added water and the peas, before I made my white sauce and put it in the pea and onion mixture. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohio Cook Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was just okay. I found it to be too thick. I will try it again, but plan to add much more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
real good basic recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Tasted just like my Father would make when I was a Child, My family and I good not get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My husband LOVED this recipe! I added a little bit of nutmeg to the sauce, and it was delicious. I used fresh pearl onions, but it was too much work, so next time I'll just use the frozen ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This recipe is delious! I added a lot of salt,pepper, and Ol'bay because I found that it had a bit of a bland taste to it.At the end,it turned out to be a great recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.& J Conkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States