Creamed Onions and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I think this recipe started out on the wrong foot. Ten minutes is plenty of time to boil walnut sized boiling onions. (30 minutes kills them) Making the cream sauce / roux was a snap. I even used potato starch instead of wheat flour. Everything was delicious till I added the lemon juice. The sauce tried to curdle into tiny lumps. The lemon was supposed to thicken or add flavor? The lemony taste did not pair well with the sage and mushrooms. I think this would be a great recipe made with fresh sage, Half and Half and no lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R Vennerbeck

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Foster, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This had fabulous consistency and presentation. It was yummy too. I did leave out the lemon zest and added a clove of garlic, and sprinkled just a hint of nutmeg over top wit the sweet paprika and parsely (which I did NOT use the whole amount the recipe calls for). The taste was well-rounded and good. I will say the sage was a bit over powering, and although I love sage, I will use less next time. Overall, though a good one. I'd also want a few more mushroom next time...but good, solid recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
great accommpaniment, to any main course, works the best with beef or fowl, I think. Prepare it ahead, and just bake in the oven for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
My mother usually makes this at the holidays, but this year I did it and I used this recipe. My sister said it tasted "just like mom's!" That says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Creamed onions have always been a part of Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. I have made them for well over 45 years and never thought of having Sage in them which seems to be a natural as it works with the sage in the dressing. I do use frozen pearl onions (cook for half the time) and I make it a day or two ahead and heat while the turkey sets. I also never thought about adding mushrooms and will try that also. The lemon I will probably omit. Love to read the way others treat a pretty standard recipe and this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Good recipe. I leave out the salt. Don't be tempted to use jarred or frozen onions in this. They just don't have the same flavor as fresh. For each in prep time, don't peel onions before boiling. Boil, then the peels can be just slipped off very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
thses were excellent and had a nice presentation (before i smashed them up and mixed them around with the sauce) on my plate. also, i was unsure about the "dry sage" as the store only had "ground" sage, so i used fresh, and used it liberally considering dried herbs often have a stronger flavor. i was concerned that the sauce was too salty when i tasted it, but once served with the onions, it all balanced out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
It's my mother-in-law's recipe and I love it. Soooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAIRMAN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was pretty good. It complimented the turkey I made. I used a bag of the frozen pearl onions. There was enough sauce for two bags of onions. I made this the day before with the exception of the baking. Did that the next day. You wouldn't know it was done the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Prepared this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a hit. I prepared with frozen pearl onions, just boiled about 6 minutes or so per package directions, and made the sauce as written. Found it was a tad bland, so I added more fresh sage and more salt and white pepper. I like the addition of the lemon, but next time I make these I think I'll use sherry or white wine. I prepared a day in advance, refrigerated, and baked 350* for about 40 minutes or so before serving. Tasty and received rave reviews. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States