Creamed Onions and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
My mother usually makes this at the holidays, but this year I did it and I used this recipe. My sister said it tasted "just like mom's!" That says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
great accommpaniment, to any main course, works the best with beef or fowl, I think. Prepare it ahead, and just bake in the oven for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
thses were excellent and had a nice presentation (before i smashed them up and mixed them around with the sauce) on my plate. also, i was unsure about the "dry sage" as the store only had "ground" sage, so i used fresh, and used it liberally considering dried herbs often have a stronger flavor. i was concerned that the sauce was too salty when i tasted it, but once served with the onions, it all balanced out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was pretty good. It complimented the turkey I made. I used a bag of the frozen pearl onions. There was enough sauce for two bags of onions. I made this the day before with the exception of the baking. Did that the next day. You wouldn't know it was done the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Excellent...although I didn't add the lemon or sage. I did add 1/2 tsp of fresh nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I wasn't thrilled about the lemon in this recipe, but will try again omitting the lemon and probably add some garlic. Makes a nice presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I was skeptical of the sage but this recipe is awesome. The guests were raving about the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
It's my mother-in-law's recipe and I love it. Soooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAIRMAN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This is a keeper - would be great for company. I couldn't find good fresh onions so I used one jar of small whole onions, fresh mushrooms and cut the cream sauce in half. It was sooooo good. I wouldn't hesitate to use jarred onions again (definitely cuts preperation time down!). Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Very good, love the mushrooms! I will probably make changes next time, probably have to submit them as a separate recipe. I added garlic (1 clove), and it was very good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemomster1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susquehanna, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States