Creamed Onions and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was great! We will keep it as a holiday tradition. The hint of lemon flavor as you bite into the onions was amazing. Everyone even asked to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Made these for Christmas and they were a huge hit! My eldest daughter had three helpings and she's the picky one! This has now become a regular Christmas dish of ours. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
great addition to any holiday or festive meal.. thanksgiving or Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Creamed onions have always been a part of Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. I have made them for well over 45 years and never thought of having Sage in them which seems to be a natural as it works with the sage in the dressing. I do use frozen pearl onions (cook for half the time) and I make it a day or two ahead and heat while the turkey sets. I also never thought about adding mushrooms and will try that also. The lemon I will probably omit. Love to read the way others treat a pretty standard recipe and this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This recipe was a huge sucess. I recently married and my husband invited his 6 brothers and sisters, complete with families over for Thanksgiving. Now, I have been cooking for my family (second marriage) for years, but always Italian. I married a man of Polish - Hungarian desent, and creamed onions were a Thanksgiving tradition. I got raves for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RmP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This had fabulous consistency and presentation. It was yummy too. I did leave out the lemon zest and added a clove of garlic, and sprinkled just a hint of nutmeg over top wit the sweet paprika and parsely (which I did NOT use the whole amount the recipe calls for). The taste was well-rounded and good. I will say the sage was a bit over powering, and although I love sage, I will use less next time. Overall, though a good one. I'd also want a few more mushroom next time...but good, solid recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Totally wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Excellent. 4 stars because I thought the lemon was just a little overwhelming and it needed more salt. Next time, I will omit the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Very good, love the mushrooms! I will probably make changes next time, probably have to submit them as a separate recipe. I added garlic (1 clove), and it was very good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemomster1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susquehanna, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States