Creamed Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
this is something our family has every easter morning. my kids love it. the only thing i notice is the sauce may be too thin. double the butter and flour. my grandmother used to make this a lot but just use the egg whites and then grate the yolks over the top. i believe she called it "golden rod".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I have a similar recipe that has been in my family for years, the only thing different I add is 1/2 tsp. curry powder. It is wonderful served over toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Sauce was fantastic Joyce! I used the sauce to top poached eggs which I placed over a slice of toast with some spinach. we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My mom used to make this for me when I was a little girl. What a great cold weather breakfast! I'd cut back on the milk just a tad to bring out the flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I love it. My mom used to make me creamed egg for breakfast and it was a treat. Its a recipe passed on from my great grandma and I will pass it on to my two girls. Its a tried and true tradition that just warms your heart in the morning. If you like gravy and biscuits you will love creamed egg over toast or biscuits. Its just a basic white sauce with diced hard boiled egg. You can jazz it up to your own personal liking. I love this recipe and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
I used to eat creamed eggs while in the Navy, so I tried the receipe and it was easy to make, it tasted great and was very filling. I love creamed eggs and this really it the spot. I think it was great for memorial day breakfast. It made me remember my Navy days. Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My husband gives this 5 stars - I give it 1. I can't stand this stuff but he loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Wow! - I am very pleased! This is a winner - very easy and VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
To my children, these are the ultimate comfort food. My college-age girls crave this when they've been stressed out by midterms or finals. They want it when they're sick. They love it with cheddar cheese added to the sauce, served over buttered wheat toast. A family tradition and a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Not as good as I've had it before, but it was a quick and easy breakfast. I can't have milk, so I used soymilk instead. I only had vanilla soymilk, and it turned out wonderful. Except, the sauce wasn't as thick as I'd like it to be. I don't know if that was because of the soymilk or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States