Creamed Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I also added a little cheddar to the sauce, along with some cayenne pepper and extra black pepper. Served it over English muffins with crumbled bacon, and hash browns. Yummy, and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is the basic recipe for what my dear Mother called "Eggs a la Goldenrod"! Back in the 50's, when money was tight we had this for dinner. Now, it is a Sunday morning favorite. To this recipe we add about 1/2 tsp. dry mustard with the flour. Serve it over toast, and sprinkle crumbled bacon on top! A hand full of shredded cheddar can be added to the sauce before adding the eggs for a cheezy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is one of the first things we learned to prepare in 7th grade home ec. Try it over chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I just made this for my supper. I made half the recipe, but I slowly added the milk until it reached a good consistency. About 2/3 cup of milk for half recipe. I made a few additions, tasted sauce before putting on eggs & toast found it a bit bland, so I added a dash of Garlic Salt & about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of finely grated cheddar cheese & let melt into sauce. This made a nice white cheese sauce. Was in the mood for scrambled eggs so I made those instead of boiled, all in all turned out to be pretty good. Would probably be very good over poached eggs on a biscuit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My mom makes this type of sauce to go over her salmon patties (with rice). Excellent sauce, great taste and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
My mom makes this for me a lot, and i LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Thin and tasteless. Cooking directions also need to make sense (i.e "add flour until it forms a ball"-WHAT?!?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Pretty good, but I would add a little more of the dry mustard. More personal taste than anything else as this was very close to what I remember my Dad making as a child
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I have a similar recipe that has been in my family for years, the only thing different I add is 1/2 tsp. curry powder. It is wonderful served over toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is an old family traditional meal for us, since my mom first learned it in home sd. class at Jefferson H.S., in San Antonio, Texas in 1936! I've taught it to my own children! We ALL LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States