Creamed Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My mom also served this called "Eggs a la Goldenrod" but we creamed the whites and sprinkled the smashed yolks on top, as a kid she would let us smash the yolks this was the best part. It definately looks more appitizing with the yolks on top. Also, try sprinkling some ground sausage on top also, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I make this recipe already, it was given to me by my mother in law years ago. I add a clove of chopped garlic when I have the butter in the saucepan and saute it lightly. I use more butter and flour than this recipe called for (just making a basic white sauce). Then as the sauce is made and thickened, I add and melt in 4 slices of American cheese. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Love it! Just like mom used to make. and so easy too. I thicken my sauce with a little more flour as per the other raters thought it was to thin. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I grew up eating this recipe and love it, but my mom used 4 Tbs of flour and added parsley, garlic salt and paprika to the sauce, and sliced, rather than chopped the eggs. This is the ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I also added a little cheddar to the sauce, along with some cayenne pepper and extra black pepper. Served it over English muffins with crumbled bacon, and hash browns. Yummy, and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is the basic recipe for what my dear Mother called "Eggs a la Goldenrod"! Back in the 50's, when money was tight we had this for dinner. Now, it is a Sunday morning favorite. To this recipe we add about 1/2 tsp. dry mustard with the flour. Serve it over toast, and sprinkle crumbled bacon on top! A hand full of shredded cheddar can be added to the sauce before adding the eggs for a cheezy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is one of the first things we learned to prepare in 7th grade home ec. Try it over chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I just made this for my supper. I made half the recipe, but I slowly added the milk until it reached a good consistency. About 2/3 cup of milk for half recipe. I made a few additions, tasted sauce before putting on eggs & toast found it a bit bland, so I added a dash of Garlic Salt & about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of finely grated cheddar cheese & let melt into sauce. This made a nice white cheese sauce. Was in the mood for scrambled eggs so I made those instead of boiled, all in all turned out to be pretty good. Would probably be very good over poached eggs on a biscuit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My mom makes this type of sauce to go over her salmon patties (with rice). Excellent sauce, great taste and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
My mom makes this for me a lot, and i LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States