Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
So happy to have found this recipe! My grandfather used to make this, with his own little twist and we all called it "Eggs a la Adrian". I remember his being a little mustard-y (his twist) and it was delicious! So happy to have this recipe! Great recipe to allow you to put your own twist on it, and also great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Creamed Easter Eggs!! I grew up eating this! We had it once a year on Easter. Mom would set some colored eggs aside in the fridge and then the egg mixture would have colored pieces. We set the yolks aside and grated in the yolk to taste in the sauce. Serve some grated yolk on top for "golden rod" Salt & pepper. Saves well for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was alright, a nice change from our typical scrambled eggs, bacon and toast breakfasts. I would probably make this again occasionally, but I don't consider it a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We have chickens. We got chickens so we could have fresh eggs. This was successful far beyond our expectations, and as a result we are always on the hunt for egg recipes. Since finding this one about two weeks ago, we've made it 4 times and it is officially our go-to weekend egg breakfast recipe. We've tried adding different spices and flavorings, and honestly you can't go wrong - dill, Lowery's, cayenne - this sauce takes all suggestions beautifully. One suggestion: pull out your handy-dandy stick blender when you go to add the egg yolks to your sauce. Saves a ton of time and aggravation, and you get a nice smooth sauce. If you have access to fresh eggs, you're going to LOVE the beautiful golden color those bright egg yolks give the final product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I scaled this down to 2 servings, and had enough of the egg mixture to top 4 slices of toast. I had never tried anything like this before. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I just finished making this recipe for the first time. I thought it was pretty bland and couldn't find that wow factor. I tried adding a little nutmeg, onion powder and more boulion to wake up the flavor but only after I tried the finished recipe. Even with those additions this dish wasn't anything to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was a quick supper for us when I was growing up. Mother called it "Welsh Rarebit" which I believe was a twist on "Welsh Rabbit". No rabbit? Use eggs. We just sliced the boiled eggs, placed on toast, and covered with sauce, which sometimes had cheese in it also. Later, I found a recipe that called for beer instead of milk in the sauce. A nice variation. This is a definite comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I grew up with his recipe and am still making it at 71. HERE"S A TWIST though...the children always got to push the yolks through a strainer or small sieve and then they (the yolks not the children) were served in a bowl of their own to sprinkle on the top...if no children are around a grown up can have the fun of pushing the yolks through...I'm not sure it makes it taste any better...but I know it makes it look much fancier and ever so elegant! I have never seen this recipe anywhere...how much fun to see it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I too have been making this dish for over 50 years. In the 50's, my mom made this dish for the family and called it "Egg-Ala-Goldenrod". She would make it every Sunday after church. Now my grandkids ask for it every time they come and stay with me. However I was taught to sprinkle the mashed egg yokes on top after the sauce was put on the toast. She made a simple white sauce (no chicken broth) and used white pepper. With a couple sausages on the side...deeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States