Creamed Cucumber Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
We used to buy the most wonderful cucumber salad at a local deli, but when it closed, we were unable to find anything like it. I tried to replicate it with sour cream, but it wasn't right. This is close to it! I used this recipe, and it was enough for 2 large cukes. I also added dried dill and sliced vidalia onion. Thanks for the recipe, it is sitting in the fridge...I can't waint until dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I only used half the mayonaisse and added sliced plum tomatoes as well and they turned out delicious. Everyone loved them, I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I've never before been a fan of cucumbers, but after making this recipe I'm now a convert. I did increase the amount of sugar, salt, pepper, and vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar), and I sliced up 3 cucumbers as opposed to the one that was called for. I also added some dried dill. Truly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This was very tasty, but WAY too heavy on the dressing. If I make it again, I will half the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Moreno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Little heavy on the dressing, but absolutely delicious. This is exactly as I remember my great-grandma's tasted! I've made this several times but cut the dressing ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
We did not really care for this. I just think it was per our taste but we did not really care for all the mayo and my husband thought it had very little flavor. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Didn't like this enough to make again. Still, very simple. I also added some fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Even though I halved the recipe, there was WAY too much mayo dressing for 1/2 a cucumber. I made this with an English cucumber as they are so much nicer than the nasty waxy tough ones. I used a veggie peeler to slice of strips of skin. I doubt I'll make this again but thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
So THIS is how Aunt Della made her cucumbers n' cream!! I always used sour cream and it never was as good, and now I know why! Thanks for the memories, GEEKSWIFE1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
very good, the only way I will eat cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States