Creamed Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Made it for a family dinner and my Sister-in-Law went nuts over it! Had to write up the recipe for her before she'd leave my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
We had to change the recipe slightly only because we didn't have the all of the ingredients. Instead of Romano cheese, we substituted grated Parmesan and grated mozzarela and it turned our wonderfully. The only thing we would have done differently was add a little more sugar. Served more than 8 but that was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Fabulous! Used fresh corn (steamed and cut off the cob, and I lightened this up by using half & half and skim milk instead of cream. Required a little extra flour to thicken it, but was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Excellent, I could have made a meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Excellent recipe! We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I have made this several times for different audiences and it's a hit everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was my first recipe for homemade creamed corn and my family loves it. I will be making it for many years to come. It blows the canned stuff away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I have made this twice. The second time was much better because as others have suggested, there is too much liquid. Here's what I did: Left butter at 1/2 cup and increased flour to 1/2 cup. I also added chopped onions for more flavor, sauteeing them before adding the flour. When I added the 1 pt of half and half and the 1 pt of cream, I brought these to a slow boil before adding the sugar, salt and corn. It did thicken up nicely. Instead of 2 16 oz bags of frozen corn, I used 3 as I was making for family Christmas dinner. It was fantastic and I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is WONDERFUL! I was looking for a recipe similar to my sisters and found this one. WOW the Romano cheese makes it decadent. Used less liquids as others have suggested and added a bit more flour for thickening. Best creamed corn recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was a huge hit for out Christmas dinner (party of 10) and not one kernel was left in the dish! I tweaked the recipe just a bit and it turned out PERFECTLY! After reading other reviews that there was too much liquid (but not wanting to reduce the creamy richness!), I increased the flour to 1/2 cup and thickened the butter, flour, heavy cream and half & half over a medium heat, stirring constantly...BEFORE adding one 28 oz bag of frozen corn and one 10 oz box of frozen cream-style corn. I omitted the cheese and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. It was absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS and people even went back for thirds and fourths!! I will be using this recipe all year 'round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaken_not_stirred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States