Creamed Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I have made this twice. The second time was much better because as others have suggested, there is too much liquid. Here's what I did: Left butter at 1/2 cup and increased flour to 1/2 cup. I also added chopped onions for more flavor, sauteeing them before adding the flour. When I added the 1 pt of half and half and the 1 pt of cream, I brought these to a slow boil before adding the sugar, salt and corn. It did thicken up nicely. Instead of 2 16 oz bags of frozen corn, I used 3 as I was making for family Christmas dinner. It was fantastic and I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
After reading many comments for this and other creamed corn recipes, we made this for a family gathering, changing things quite a bit. It was a great hit. What we changed was this: Decreased butter to 2 Tbls to match the amount of flour, and added 1/2 chopped onion to the butter, cooking until translucent, to add some flavor, before blending in the flour. Next we replaced the heavy cream with whole milk, and only used 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1 1/2 cups of half n half. We reduced the sugar to 1 Tbls. and added about 1 1/2 Tbls of fresh gound black pepper. Used same amount of corn, cheese and salt. Once the mixture was bubbly, we cooked it for about 20 minutes, then turned off and when cooled, stored in the fridge in a covered, buttered casserole dish until the party (2 days later). Day of party, we brought the casserole to room temp in microwave, sprinkled some cracker crumbs (about 1/2 cup) mixed with melted butter (about 1 Tbls) over and baked at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes, until bubbly. Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This creamed corn is absolutely delicious! HOWEVER...it has waaaaaay too much liquid in it. After spending a good half-hour hoping it would reduce significantly, I finally ended up taking ladle-fulls of liquid out. I think it needs about 1/3 a pint of half & half and cream each. That's it. Once I got rid of the excess liquid though...mmmmmmmmarvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
We had to change the recipe slightly only because we didn't have the all of the ingredients. Instead of Romano cheese, we substituted grated Parmesan and grated mozzarela and it turned our wonderfully. The only thing we would have done differently was add a little more sugar. Served more than 8 but that was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
Very sweet...mine came out very liquidy. THe romano cheese is a great addition. Adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Made it for a family dinner and my Sister-in-Law went nuts over it! Had to write up the recipe for her before she'd leave my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I thought it was soo different from the old canned cream of corn. NO DOUBT BETTER! It is more like a souffle. Very fattening and rich- but who cares on Thanksgiving, right?! Kids loved it but for some reason i will try another next time??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
I WAISTED $10.00 ON THIS RECIPE, I WILL NEVER MAKE THIS AGAIN. MOLLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was very good. So very very much better than the canned stuff I grew up on. I cut the recipe in half, so for 1/4 cup butter I used 3 T flour. I added some diced onions in to the butter before I added the flour. Also I didn't have Romano cheese so I used Asiago. And because it was so hot today I skipped the baking part of the recipe, just cooked it all on the stove. Worked great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I used fresh picked corn from the garden. add a bit of chedder cheese on top when served. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States