Creamed Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Fabulous! Used fresh corn (steamed and cut off the cob, and I lightened this up by using half & half and skim milk instead of cream. Required a little extra flour to thicken it, but was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this recipe for a family gathering. Althought the flavor was not that bad, it was way too runny. I prefer a more thick consistency in my cream corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Excellent, I could have made a meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great recipe. I ommited the sugar entirely and reduced the butter down to 2 tbs. SUPER fattening but a splurge is nice now and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was my first recipe for homemade creamed corn and my family loves it. I will be making it for many years to come. It blows the canned stuff away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This creamed corn is absolutely delicious! HOWEVER...it has waaaaaay too much liquid in it. After spending a good half-hour hoping it would reduce significantly, I finally ended up taking ladle-fulls of liquid out. I think it needs about 1/3 a pint of half & half and cream each. That's it. Once I got rid of the excess liquid though...mmmmmmmmarvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I am a big fan of cheese, but somehow it did not seem to work for me with the corn. Next time I will make it without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Too liquidy, too bland, and really fatty. Reducing the fat and cream content would improve it, but I won't be trying it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
After reading many comments for this and other creamed corn recipes, we made this for a family gathering, changing things quite a bit. It was a great hit. What we changed was this: Decreased butter to 2 Tbls to match the amount of flour, and added 1/2 chopped onion to the butter, cooking until translucent, to add some flavor, before blending in the flour. Next we replaced the heavy cream with whole milk, and only used 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1 1/2 cups of half n half. We reduced the sugar to 1 Tbls. and added about 1 1/2 Tbls of fresh gound black pepper. Used same amount of corn, cheese and salt. Once the mixture was bubbly, we cooked it for about 20 minutes, then turned off and when cooled, stored in the fridge in a covered, buttered casserole dish until the party (2 days later). Day of party, we brought the casserole to room temp in microwave, sprinkled some cracker crumbs (about 1/2 cup) mixed with melted butter (about 1 Tbls) over and baked at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes, until bubbly. Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Not at all what I expected. It wasnt awful, but I wont make this recipe again. The ingredients did not seem to blend together & way too much cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States