Creamed Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
It's very good, but only 4 stars because it's too saucy. Needs more corn, less sauce. But really good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was a huge hit for out Christmas dinner (party of 10) and not one kernel was left in the dish! I tweaked the recipe just a bit and it turned out PERFECTLY! After reading other reviews that there was too much liquid (but not wanting to reduce the creamy richness!), I increased the flour to 1/2 cup and thickened the butter, flour, heavy cream and half & half over a medium heat, stirring constantly...BEFORE adding one 28 oz bag of frozen corn and one 10 oz box of frozen cream-style corn. I omitted the cheese and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. It was absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS and people even went back for thirds and fourths!! I will be using this recipe all year 'round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaken_not_stirred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great and easy! I've only had creamed corn once years ago and so of course I've never made it before so since the other reviews warned of it being liquidy I was a little worried. What I did was add an extra tablespoon of flour and extra corn. I added almost a whole other bag. It definitely yielded more but i was ok with that since i made it for a gathering. In the future I would just suggest not adding so much half and half/cream/butter and it'll be just right. I loved the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The first time I made this, I had my husband's grandma over for Christmas dinner. She actually went back for thirds of this dish!!! Said it was even better than her own. lol Gotta love those points! ;) This is definitely the best recipe I have come across. Everyone I have served it to has loved it. I do reduce the liquid as it does get runny otherwise but other than that, it is amazing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is WONDERFUL! I was looking for a recipe similar to my sisters and found this one. WOW the Romano cheese makes it decadent. Used less liquids as others have suggested and added a bit more flour for thickening. Best creamed corn recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made it with fresh corn that I took off the cob. I stuck to the recipe's quantities of liquid, but added more corn until it was the kind of consistency I wanted. This is a super rich dish, and a little goes a long way. Nice for special occasions but not something I'd make on a regular basis. Thanks, Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I have made this twice. The second time was much better because as others have suggested, there is too much liquid. Here's what I did: Left butter at 1/2 cup and increased flour to 1/2 cup. I also added chopped onions for more flavor, sauteeing them before adding the flour. When I added the 1 pt of half and half and the 1 pt of cream, I brought these to a slow boil before adding the sugar, salt and corn. It did thicken up nicely. Instead of 2 16 oz bags of frozen corn, I used 3 as I was making for family Christmas dinner. It was fantastic and I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this with less liquid and instead of 1 cup of romano I used 1/3 cup of sprinkle parmesan and romano that I already had. It was a perfect consistancy and not too cheesy! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Dee Webb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Maysville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I thought this was pretty good, but my kids were not very excited. My husband, who is used to the canned version - which he loves - did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I used fresh picked corn from the garden. add a bit of chedder cheese on top when served. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States